Skip to content

Boredom Busting Workout

July 30, 2009

It looked like rain was rolling in this morning, so I decided to take my workout to the basement…time for the dreadmill! Running inside on the treadmill is something that I don’t love to do when I could be outside instead.  However, it is a good option for days that I don’t have as much time as usual or if there is bad weather.

There are good ways to bust up the boredom! I decided today to run a half mile and then jump off the treadmill and do some strength moves and abs and then repeat.  I run a half mile in about 5:30. 

The first set I ran a half mile then jumped off and using 8 lb hand weights I did 15 reps of shoulder presses, 20 reps of bicep curls and 15 reps of tricep kickbacks.  Then I did a 45 second plank and jumped back on for another half mile run. 

 The second set of strength was chest flyes, side planks and lateral raises.  More running!

Third set of  strength included pushups and 4 different ab moves. 

Last set of running followed by bent over rows and presses plus final abs.  I then walked half a mile to cool down and stretched. 

What a great workout!

My stats:

50 minutes total (including cool down)

495 calories burned

Average heart rate 156

Max heart rate 182  (wow!)

The 50 minutes flew by and you could change it up by running shorter or longer distances and then jumping off for the strength moves.  It is a great way to keep your heart rate up the whole workout while squeezing in strength and cardio.  Normally I would have thrown in squats and lunges but my thighs are STILL sore from Monday’s kick butt workout.

I’m off to have some of my delicious bean salad for lunch!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2009 11:18 pm

    WOW! This is such a creative way of working out. I find times goes by so much faster when I break down the time on the elliptical.

  2. courtlove111 permalink*
    July 30, 2009 11:28 pm

    I know, I can’t focus for too long so I love to try and break it down. I find I can work out longer and harder when I keep my interest piqued!

Leave a comment