Skip to content

I’m Alive!!!

May 6, 2010

Hey blog land…I’m alive and kicking but not blogging so much.  Why?  Because I have been working my booty off!! Trying to build up my personal training clientele takes up time and I have been working some crazy hours.  But I love it…I have about 10 clients plus my boot camp and I really am enjoying it.  I’m also in the gym working out, running, foam rolling, etc etc.

Not much new to report except I had a less than stellar run on Sunday.  Was supposed to do 11, ended up cutting it off at about 7.5.  I started feeling a twinge in my groin area (and not a good twinge) that felt like it could turn into an injury if I pushed it, so I called it a day and haven’t run since!

I have been doing lifting and going to town on the ARC trainer as cross training and the twinge is gone so I think today I’m going to hit the trail and run.  I am in taper mode right now as the Green Bay Half Marathon is next weekend, but I still want to put some miles in.

I have been doing some pretty awesome strength workouts though, and that combined with a layer of self tanner has gotten me a few compliments on my muscles lately….sweeeeeet! :>  The miracles of self tanner.

I’ve also been rocking out the ARC trainer.  I try to go between 30 and 45 minutes on it and I pick a program, put it on level 10 (highest level) and GO.  I feel like it is a good cross training alternative to running and I burn some decent calories doing it.

Here are a few of my strength workouts I’ve been doing…if you have questions about any of the moves email me! Always happy to answer questions about fitness.

Workout one:

Superset the exercises:

Deadlifts 50 lbs x 10 x 3 (working on these)/Bench press 60 x 10 x 3

Smith machine incline pullups (training myself to do real pullups) x 10/Lat pulldowns 80lbs x 15 x 3

Shoulder press machine 50lbs x 12 x 3

Bosu Get Up and Get Downs 15 x 3 (start seated on bosu, stand up and sit down-great exercise!)

Glute bridge 15 x 3

Side plank (forearm) each side 30 seconds

Side plank (straight arm) each side 30 seconds

 

Workout two:

Lat pulldown 80 lbs x 15 x 3 (did drop sets last set…wheeeee!)

Pull up machine

Seated row (used cable machine and bench) 80 lbs x 15 x 3 (drop sets last set)

Back extension 15 x 3

Shrugs with dumbbells 25 lbs x 12, 25 lbs x 15

21’s  12 lbs x 3 sets

Hammer curls 15 lbs x 10 x 3 (drop sets last set)

Killer!!

 

Workout three:

SUPERSETS!!!

Triceps kickbacks 15lbs x 15 x3/Barbell Row 30 lbs x 15 x3

Hip adduction/Hip abduction/Glute kickbacks on cable machine

Squats on Bosu with 15lbs dumbbells x 15/Cable woodchops high to low 50 lbs x 12

Russian twists with 8 lbs med ball 20 x 3/Stability ball pass from hands to feet 12 x 3

 

Workout four:

Stand on round side of Bosu:

Shoulder presses 20 lbs dumbbells x 15 x 3

Hammer curls 20 lbs dumbbells x 12 x 3

Glute bridge on bosu with tricep pullover 25 lbs x 15 x 3

Chest press on bench 25 lb dumbbells x 12 x 3

Lat pulldown 80 lbs x 15 x 3

Twists with cable 40 lbs x 10 each side x 3

Planks 45 seconds x 3

Side toe touches 10 each way x 3

 

Hope this gives you some good ideas for some fun and effective strength workouts!  I’m off to hit the trail for a hopefully successful run and have some clients to train later. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. fattiefatterton permalink
    May 6, 2010 5:54 pm

    I’m so glad that you’re alive. 😀 I hope that your run today is amazing and no twinges!! Congrats on all of your new clients! 😀

  2. May 6, 2010 9:16 pm

    Damn twinges! I really hope that doesn’t become an issue… ugh!

  3. May 6, 2010 10:00 pm

    Hey! Thanks for all the great workouts. What is an ARC trainer? I don’t think we have one in our gym. Don’t worry about the one shortened run. You are ready for this half and are going to do great!!
    Thanks for the anniversary wishes. There was no husband here to celebrate with, but I did go out to lunch with one of my girlfriends. You make adjustments as a military wife – I think he’s only been home for 2 of the 7. 🙂

  4. May 6, 2010 10:22 pm

    Glad to “see” you! Also glad that your personal training practice is going well. Good luck in the half marathon next weekend!

Leave a Reply

