Skip to content

Road Runner Karoake + 10 miles

April 19, 2010

Happy Monday morning bloggies!

Hope everyone has had a wonderful weekend.

I’ve already been up and to work for an early morning client and now I’m home for breakfast, laundry and hopefully a nap before I head back to work.

I have lots of great workouts to report in on from the past few days.

Since I left you last, I had to complete a 6 mile and 10 mile training run for my half marathon.

Thursday I headed out to the trail to complete my 6 mile run.  UGH right from the beginning! My legs were tired from my hard core workout the day before.  BAD IDEA!!

Also, it was about 72 degrees and I was running on blacktop.  This is the hottest it had been in months and it definitely affected me.  I stopped about every 2 miles to take some Powerade. 

I ran out 3 miles on the trail and then turned around.  Mile 3 I was dying.  Luckily, I had a new playlist and that is what got me through.

Karoake time!! As I was running I just focused on the tunes.  A little “Van Hagar” got me through the roughest part of my run where I just wanted to give up.  I was running along singing “Don’t Tell me What Love Can Do” at the top of my lungs.  I’m sure the other bikers and runners on the path enjoyed it as well.

It was not my best run ever, it was hot and felt long and not only mentally but physically rough.  BUT I DID IT.

TRAINING STATS

.25 mile warm up, .35 mile cooldown

Total time: 1 hr 33 minutes

6 mile run time: 1:02

1,061 calories (the heat made me work harder and burn more calories!!)

156 average HR, 186 max HR

Friday after some clients at work I did a short and sweet little strength workout and lots and lots of foam rolling.

Saturday I worked and had clients and made it a total rest from exercise in preparation for my 10 miles on Sunday.

Now that I know how tough 10 miles is, I decided that my new training protocol was going to be DENIAL!!  It worked great too, especially since I knew I was running alone…no wind beneath my wings like last Sunday.  I had to dig deep and do the 10 miles without anyone to cheer me on.

DENIAL part 1:  I kept telling myself I only had to do a 5 mile run.  And this was technically true, I had to do a 5 mile run.  Then turn around and run another 5 mile run.  But I didn’t think about that part.

DENIAL part 2: Do a fun supermodel photo shoot beforehand to distract myself.

100_3695  100_3697

Headed out to the trail and decided to go the opposite way on the trail that I usually do to get a new viewpoint on life.

It was shady, cool temps, and tons of peeps out on bikes, walking, running and hanging with their dogs. 

DENIAL part 3: Just keep running!

Last time we did the 10 miles we stopped about every 2 miles to take a break and drink some fluids, and towards the end I also stopped a few times to stretch.

This time around I felt great…my feet and legs were flying and my lungs were breathing deep so I just kept running! I ran all the way to the halfway point of 5 miles without taking a break.  Then I stopped and stretched my legs for a minute and drank some Powerade.

At this point the hubby called and was home from the dog park so he offered to head out on the trail on my bike and meet up with me for the last few miles. 

I turned around and headed back for the second half of the run.  My knee had stiffened up and I felt a little sore from stopping, but I got my pace back.

Thanks to all the friendly runners and dog walkers who encouraged me! I love when people randomly cheer you on while you on the path.  You don’t know how much that keeps me going!

I kept running and running…it was a very pretty path with lots of water and I also found another place with bathrooms…always good to know.  I kept running and wondering where the heck my hubs was…how long does it take to bike a few miles!!! I got to having 2.20 miles left to go and he still hadn’t trekked down the trail towards me so I stopped to take a drink and call him.

Turns out he made it about a 1.5 down the trail and got a flat tire!!!!!!  He was just ahead of me on the trail so I loaded back up and ran down to meet him.

He ended up running the bike a little ahead of me for the last 2 miles as I turned on the speed.

I was determined to beat my first 10 miler time, and I was feeling MUCH better than I did during the last 2 miles the first time I ran 10.

The last half mile I ran at about a 9:35 pace……wheeeee!

I ended up beating my last 10 mile time by OVER A MINUTE!  And this time my heart rate monitor was working correctly so I had all my stats.

TRAINING STATS

.25 mile warmup, .25 cooldown, 10 mile run

Total time (with stretching too): 2 hrs 8 minutes

Total time for 10 miles: 1 hr 45 minutes

1551 calories

161 average HR, 176 max HR

This weeks agenda is full of work, clients, and 2 six mile training runs and one 11 mile training run.  Less than a month to the Green Bay half marathon!!!!!!!!!!!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Molly permalink
    April 19, 2010 1:12 pm

    Um hello – you are talking to ‘Air Drummer’ girl when I run!! 🙂

    Good job on the 10!!!! Woot Woot!

  2. April 19, 2010 1:19 pm

    Green Bay Marathon / less than a month / friends and family followers / AIM for 13 on the 16th!!!! GO GIRL:)

  3. April 19, 2010 1:51 pm

    I love that randoms were cheering you on! Makes it all that much better! I’m a total nerd and usually visualize that the last mile or two to get me through… 🙂

  4. DiningAndDishing permalink
    April 19, 2010 6:33 pm

    Intense work out!! So nice of people to help cheer you along! 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  5. April 19, 2010 6:36 pm

    Great run!! I also love the denial game…yesterday I had a cut-back long run and ran 6 miles…but I felt like I’d been on the trail for HOURS! On the 2nd half of the run I decided I was going to say “hi,” “good morning,” “have a great run/ride” etc to everyone I passed. It made the last few miles fly by as I encountered tons of runners/walkers/cyclists. Have a great Monday!

  6. April 19, 2010 6:47 pm

    Aw, poor hubs! So sweet of him to come out and meet you on the trail! You are so prepared for this race its not even funny!!

  7. April 20, 2010 1:21 am

    With training runs like that you are going to kick some serious booty at your half!!

    Well, I did it. I signed up for a ridiculously hard trail marathon in Mongolia! Thanks to inspiring blogs (yours is the first one I read every day) I decided to go for it!! Woohoo!

    Have a great week, Amy

  8. fattiefatterton permalink
    April 20, 2010 2:39 am

    I have this picture of you running like Phoebe on Friends, singing at the top of your lungs. Love it!

    As always, you inspire, my friend. 😀

  9. April 20, 2010 5:55 pm

    Wooot!!! Congrats on your great runs! Way to push through and persevere. You’ll be so ready for that half marathon!

Leave a Reply

