Skip to content

The Hills

April 15, 2010

No, not the “reality show” on MTV, but the hills in my neck of the woods have made a return!

I have been running out on the bike trail lately since I have been running longer distances or the treadmill since I’m already at the gym and have been neglecting my good old country routes.

This week’s half marathon training schedule has 5 miles, 6 miles and 10 miles on the agenda so I decided I would take the 5 mile run to my old route.

Whooooo heeeeee!  I have been running pretty flat terrain lately and these hills kicked my bootay! I was feeling it for sure as I tackled hills I haven’t run in a while.  It was good to get back out there though, I know those roads like the back of my hand and it was nice to just run and go with the flow. 

I was able to run in a decent time as well even with the hills added in. I miscalculated my mileage just a bit and had to run up and down my street a few times at the end to get to my 5 mile goal!!

TRAINING STATS

.45 mile walking warmup

5 mile run, time 51:07

total time with warmup, cooldown, stretching 69 minutes

800 calories

157 average HR, 181 max HR

Yesterday I got in an AWESOME workout in between clients.  I had come up with this program for one of my clients and thought with a few modifications to make it more advanced it would be a great workout for me so I hit it up. 

Thighs meet pain.  Shoulders meet definition!!!

I did 3 circuits of this routine:

Four squat across 8 each side

(one foot in middle of Bosu, one on ground, do 4 small squats on one side and then shuffle over the Bosu and repeat on the other side)

Forward lunge onto Bosu into reverse lunge holding 15 lb dumbbells

(did 12 with one leg and then switched….holy cow)

Pushups on Smith Bar x 15 reps

Row on stability ball x 12 reps with 15 lb dumbbells (30 lbs)

Decline situp bench with a bicep curl 12 reps with 12 lb dumbbells (24 lbs)

(set a decline bench to the middle height, as you sit up, do a bicep curl)

Pullovers on bench 12 reps x 25 lbs

Plank on stability ball 30 seconds x 2 each circuit (did a total of 6 of these)

TRAINING STATS

49 minutes

342 calories

123 average HR, 160 max HR

I am feeling this today…upper quads, triceps and back are all sore.  Love it!

I also love that I’m completely and totally off today and so is the hubby!! It is going to be 80 degrees and basically perfect weather outside.  I’m getting ready to head out to the trail for my 6 mile scheduled run and we plan on getting out for our first tennis game of the year later today!!!!!!!  That means summer is coming for sure.

QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Lots of us hit the gym or run and bike.  But do you play any sports? As an adult it is fun to play sports as we don’t have as many opportunities.  What do you play? What would you play if you could?

I love to play tennis!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Fattie Fatterton permalink
    April 15, 2010 4:17 pm

    You go!! don’t you hate it when you have to figure out how to get the last bit in so that you hit the mileage you want?

  2. Jen permalink
    April 15, 2010 8:29 pm

    Volleyball is my sport.

  3. April 15, 2010 10:08 pm

    Completely addicted to ultimate frisbee!

  4. April 16, 2010 1:12 pm

    I guess I’m sport-less. 😦

    You mean you weren’t hanging out with LC and her gang???

Leave a Reply

