Skip to content

Did You Ever Know That You’re My Hero

April 12, 2010

DSC08976

What a great weekend!  My friend Molly and her two kiddies got in around 6:30 or so on Saturday and it was controlled chaos from there on out.  We all went down to a park right away to let everyone stretch their legs after being in the car for 10 hours and then headed back to the house for build your own tacos.

Sunday morning started with coffee and an everything bagel with peanut butter.  I was ready for my 10 mile training run!!!

100_3676

I was really excited about the run for some reason!!!  Molly was not as excited as demonstrated by this pic.  (please note her shirt! awesome!)

100_3681

We headed out to the trail via car.  We pulled up to the entrance of the trail and there was a creepy guy standing there, talking to himself and staring at us.  When we pulled up he started walking towards our car.  Ummmmm NO THANKS CREEPOID.  Too early in the morning for that! I whipped the truck in reverse and we went to a different trail entrance.  Although later on in our run around 7 mile we did end up passing him and I sped up!! He was still talking to himself.

We got to the trail and took off after much adjustment of ipod bands and heart rate monitors.  The only real complaint I had was I GRABBED THE WRONG HEART RATE MONITOR BAND!!!!!!!!  Ugh.  My heart monitor didn’t really work the whole time, so I don’t have those stats.  I’m throwing that old one out!

We took off keeping a decent pace, knowing that we needed to keep it up for 10 miles.  We had no time goal, just wanted to run the whole way.  Molly is a bit faster than me and she ran about 10 steps ahead of me the whole way which was awesome because I had to make sure to keep up.  She was a great pace person!  And the wind beneath my wings for this run.  I couldn’t have done it without her…my first double digit run would have been a lot harder if it wasn’t for her!!

We stopped about every 2 to 2.5 miles to drink some Powerade and catch our breath/stretch.  When we got to 5 we just had to take a few pics.

100_3682 100_3683

100_3684

We ran along, keeping up our pace of around 10:30 for most of the run which I think is pretty darn good!  When we got to mile 8 is when it got mental for me.  I did have some aches and pains, but my mind was starting to tell me I couldn’t do it.  Molly encouraged me to keep going and I ate some fruit snacks.  I really don’t think they helped, but I’m not sure.  Have to keep experimenting.

I made it to 8.5 and decided to just take it half mile by half mile.  Made it to 9.  Made it to 9.5.  The bridge that was our ending point was in view.  Molly took off at about 9.75 because she just wanted to be done.  I chased her as fast as I could go at that point!  Finally hit the end.

100_3685 100_3686

Don’t worry, I’m not puking, just trying to catch my breath!!

Overall I think I will be fine for the half marathon but I do still need to continue my training for the next few weeks.  I’m not sure I could have run 3 more miles today but I think if I keep putting the miles in I will be ok.

TRAINING STATS

(no heart rate or calories but I’m estimating 1700 calories and my HR was averaging 163 when my monitor was working)

Total mileage: 10 miles

Total time: 1 hr 46 minutes

Pace: 10:40 per mile

New personal distance record and first double digits for me!!

We walked back to the car and stretched a bit and then went to the park to pick up this crew.

100_3689

How do you feel after your training run everyone???

100_3687 100_3688

Showers and protein drinks were had, then I had to go give a little presentation on fitness to my new boss’s daughter’s Girl Scout troop.  It was fun but I was whipped! I came home and played in our yard with the crew.

I will leave you with some pics of the shenanigans in the front yard that was followed by lots of pizza, root beer and beer nuggets (fried pizza dough).

DSC08975 DSC08977

DSC08978 DSC08987

DSC08988 DSC08989

DSC08994

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 1:16 pm

    awesome job courtney and molly!! isn’t that first double digit run a rush?! you will ROCK the half, c. you’ve got it.

  2. April 12, 2010 1:22 pm

    It looks like you had such a great weekend! Yea for friends coming to visit!

    But booooo for random creepers on the trail…

  3. April 12, 2010 1:27 pm

    BFF! What a great bio of your day together! That’s what friends are for!

  4. Karla permalink
    April 12, 2010 1:43 pm

    You too are the BEST. Love my girls.

  5. Jen permalink
    April 12, 2010 2:20 pm

    Congrats! Love the photos and glad that Molly helped you rock it out. I have some Cliff Shot blocks if you’re interested. Haven’t tried them and they’re just sitting in my drawer. I’ll get them to you next time I see you or our boys see one another.

  6. jessica permalink
    April 12, 2010 3:03 pm

    way to go girls! love that you and molly can make even 10 miles a hoot. re: cliff shot blocks, i love them, but cut them in half before your run, because after lots of miles when your mouth is dry anyway, a whole one isn’t good. we look forward to seeing the seymour contingency at the half! woot!

  7. rita fisher permalink
    April 12, 2010 5:23 pm

    amazing….10 miles in under 2 hours….that means you could hike the Grand Canyon in under 2 hours..

  8. April 12, 2010 8:33 pm

    YAY!!!!!!! Welcome to double digit land! It must have been a nice treat to run with a great friend. Makes all the difference in the world.

  9. April 12, 2010 11:11 pm

    Woohoo!! Great job. You are going to do great on the half. I absolutely love the last picture. 🙂
    I think my next goal is a trail marathon in Mongolia. Still thinking about it though. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Did You Ever Know That You’re My Hero « Adventures in Tri-ing -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

