Skip to content

Coasting into the weekend

April 2, 2010

Hey all!!  Long time no talk.  Hope everyone has had a wonderful week and you are ready for the weekend!

I’m completely off of work today which is a nice treat! Although I do love my new job, it is nice to have a day off.  I’m back to it tomorrow with 2 consultations and a client all back to back starting at 8 am.  Oh the life of a trainer!!!

I spent from 6:45 a.m. until 2:30 p.m. at the gym yesterday…it is becoming my second home.  I packed 2 meals, 2 changes of clothes and a huge bag full of other nonsense for my day.  I definitely need to get a bigger “lunch pail” for my long days at the job so I can bring enough eatings.

I started my day with a client workout, then I did my own strength training, worked manager hours, then ran 5 miles on the treadmill.

Strength workout was AWESOME and I’m feeling it today.  Treadmill 5 miles is ridiculous and I hate running on the treadmill with the white hot fury of a thousand suns! (drama!!)

I think I figured it out though.  I run about 45 seconds slower on the treadmill partially because of just the boring mental factor of being indoors.  But I also think I have a longer stride outside, allowing me to run faster and more effectively.

I feel like on the treadmill I run a shortened stride that makes me a little slower and lot less effectiReve.

I did a nice warmup, 5 mile run, cooldown and major stretching (foam rolled when I got home aaaaahhhh) in about 70 minutes.

TRAINING STATS

70 minutes total

5 mile run time 52:27

898 calories

160 average HR

186 max HR

My strength workout was AWESOME as I said above and my abs and leggies are burning today.  I tried a few new moves, one I have a hard time even describing.  I saw a guy doing it at the other gym on my last day there and decided I need to replicate it.  Basically it is a reverse jacknife type crunch on the stability ball while under the bar on the Smith machine that you use to roll and pull yourself.  I need to make a video.  Needless to say, it rocked my abs off and I actually had another woman who was working out ask me to demonstrate it and she tried it out. 

She told me I was hardcore!!!!   YES!!!!!!!!

I also did some awesome renegade rows with my feet on the bosu.  I got in the plank position with my feet/ankles resting on the bosu instead of the ground holding a 10 lb dumbbell under my hands in the pushup position and then rowed.  Um yeah, hardcore.  I only used 10 lbs even though I could row a lot more because to stay in the plank position while doing all that was taking all my strength!

Workout:

Smith machine stability ball rollouts/reverse crunch  3 x 12 (plus demos!!)

One arm Arnold press 3 x 12  20 lbs

Leg press machine 5 of each: heels hanging off end, wide stance, narrow stance 200 lbs

Weighted walking lunges 1 set with 15 lb dumbbells, 2 sets with 20 lb dumbbells

Renegade rows with feet on bosu 3 x 12 alternating with 10 lb dumbbells

Lay on bench and lift legs up (abs) 3 x 15

TRAINING STATS

37 minutes

268 calories

125 average HR

170 max HR

I’m having a bit of Wild Mountain Blueberry coffee right now (thanks BRO) and getting ready to head to my parents for a bit.  They are back from being in Arizona for a month and 2 of my dad’s sisters will be there as well! Fun!  I’m actually driving my brother’s car up there which is weird because he has a little red sunfire and I usually drive a mid-size SUV.  I feel sporty! And it has a sunroof…which is perfect for this beautiful high 70 degree weather we have right now.

Hope everyone has a fun weekend planned!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 2:31 pm

    Have a WONDERFUL day off and enjoy the time back with the fam! 🙂

    And hell yeah you’re HARD CORE!

  2. DiningAndDishing permalink
    April 2, 2010 3:07 pm

    Enjoy your day off lady! I am JEALOUS OF YOU!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  3. Fattie Fatterton permalink
    April 3, 2010 3:11 am

    You ARE hardcore!! Holy crap! 😀

  4. April 5, 2010 4:34 pm

    Wow! Great workouts-you’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

