Skip to content

Rockin Like It’s My Job

March 30, 2010

Hey there bloggies! Long time no talk.

Last off I left you with my 8 mile adventures.

Since then I’ve been busy finishing up shifts at my fitness floor job (tomorrow is my last day!), training clients, working out, training for the half marathon, the usual.

My job as a personal trainer is amazing! I absolutely love training clients, working with them to get healthy and in shape.  I leave every day with a big smile on my face absolutely amazed that this is my life.

I rocked out a 5 mile run on my re-discovered trail on Sunday.  Although once again the first 2.5 miles was into the wind and I was NOT breaking any speed records.  Averaging around 10:40 minute miles.  But once I turned around and had the wind at my back I was rocking 9:38 minute miles for the second half of my run which I thought was pretty great!

I ended up doing the 5 miles in 51:40, the average was 10:14 minute miles.  Not a record breaking run but it felt good and I was pretty happy with it.

I’m feeling like this half marathon is doable!! And my goal right now is to just finish…I would like to do it in around 2 hrs 30 mins, but my main goal is to just run it.

Here is the awesome strength workout I’ve been rocking lately as a way to cross train:

Squat with a row (cable cross machine, used rope grip) 3 x 15, 70 lbs

Reverse lunge with a lift, holding 2 15 lbs dumbbells 3 x 15

21’s  3 sets, 10 lb dumbbells

pushups on smith machine 3 x 15

dumbbell upright row 3 x 15 using 15 lb dumbbells

bench step ups holding 10 lb dumbbells 3 x 15 each leg

single leg deadlifts holding 10 lb dumbbells 3 x 10 each leg

decline sit ups on bench 3 x 15

v-up toe touches 3 x 10 each leg

This took me about 45 minutes and burned about 400 calories.  I am feeling it in my hammies today for sure!

This week’s half marathon training schedule calls for 4 miles, 5 miles and 5 miles.  Easy peasy!!!

Next week calls for 3 miles, 2 miles, and 10.2 miles.  WHAT!?  Double digits!! My first double digit run and another personal distance record.

Luckily, my friend Molly will be here and we are planning to do the 10 mile training run together.  I’m hoping that will make it fly by.

Ok, I’m off to develop some client workout plans, I leave you with a dog who is obviously so spoiled it isn’t even funny! Only problem is he is so darn cute (even with the drool on my chaise) who can resist!

100_3673 100_3675

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 3:01 pm

    Have fun on your last day tomorrow! 🙂

  2. Molly permalink
    March 30, 2010 4:29 pm

    get bent 10.2

  3. March 30, 2010 10:43 pm

    You know I always love pictures of puppies! Great job on the run. You’re going to do fine with 10.2. Remember, once you’re doing runs around 9-10 miles you need to start thinking about your fueling strategy. Find something now and stick with it for race day. You’re going to do awesome.
    Have you done TRX workouts? I did my first one yesterday and can barely walk my stairs today. Holy moly! (but in a good way).

  4. March 31, 2010 6:51 pm

    Isn’t it fantastic to love what you are doing for a living? Glad to hear you really are enjoying your life as a trainer.

Leave a Reply

