Skip to content

8 Miles

March 26, 2010

No, not the Eminem movie, and I didn’t cry at the end of the movie.

8 miles as in A NEW PERSONAL DISTANCE RECORD!!!

Can’t believe I ran 8 miles, I’m fairly impressed with myself.

Would love to share some stats with you, but this is where the crying part comes in.

Let’s set up the scene.  For those of you that live in the area, you know Thursday started off ok, but the temperature DROPPED quickly in the morning, and the winds picked up.  I didn’t realize how cold and windy it was. 

I drove to the new trail I’m going to use for long runs, got out of my car, and was almost blown over with wind.  Great.  I take off through a neighborhood, downhill, not too bad.  Nike plus is working perfectly, I’ve got about a 10:20 pace going which I figured I could hold for the whole run.

I turn the corner, hit the trail and run smack into the wind.  I’m talking I had to put my hood up and tie it tight to keep my hat from flying off my head!! EEEK!!!  This did slow me down a bit, but I figured if I could run into the wind as long as I could then once I turned around the wind would be at my back and I would be golden.

So I took off down the trail which I’m so glad I rediscovered.  Mostly flat.  No cars.  Did I mention mostly flat!  Miles and miles of trail to run which will be helpful with longer runs planned.  I had biked here a few times in the past as well so I was familiar with the path. 

I headed into the wind, ipod blaring, rocking out.  Stopped at 2.75 and took a few massive swigs of Powerade.  Oh Powerade, I do love you.  The fruit punch flavor is so good and I decided I need to bring something for a little extra boost on long runs.  It did help me, I could feel a little something extra after I took a few sips.  I made it to 3.5 miles before I couldn’t take the wind any longer.  I was running around 10:45 minute miles at that point, sometimes up to 11 minute miles with the wind. 

I turned around and headed back and immediately my pace and my mood picked up.  I was back to doing about 10:20-10:30 minute miles, wind was at my back, I was rocking it out! Miles 3.5-6.0 were the best and easiest!! I stopped a few times to swig some Powerade.

Made it back to the neighborhood where I got on the trail but decided I would continue on the trail a little bit and jump out further on.  Mistake one.

Stopped there for a minute to swig some Powerade.  Mistake two.

Paused my Nike plus on the ipod to drink.  Mistake three.

I know I was at 6.94 miles, had about 1.05 miles to go.  I hit pause like I had done 10 other times during the run.  Looked down, and my screen was blank.  Huh?!

I pulled my arm band off, frantically scrolling through the Nike plus history.  Now, I have accidentally hit end workout about a million times on this thing and had to start over, but this time the whole entire workout was MISSING FROM MY IPOD.  It had been erased!!! I know even know how I did it.

I knew I had gone 6.94 miles, but that is it.  Not sure how long it had taken me or what my pace was.  I had on my heart rate monitor, but I had started it during my warmup and I don’t pause that when I stop for drinks so that time wasn’t going to help me.  I was so frustrated I stood there and started BAWLING.

Yep, crying like a baby. 

The temps were dropping even more, I was windburnt, had a mile to go, and all my hard work was erased from my ‘pod.  

So in my blind tears I re-started my ipod and took off.

Mistake 4.

I should have taken the way back I came, instead I took off and ended up LOST.  I was running up a huge hill, the wind blowing at my full force, not sure where I was and PISSED.

I pulled it together long enough to figure out what was up and made it back to my car, successfully completing the 8 miles.

What an adventure!

Here’s what I learned:

1) I WILL be able to run the half marathon, this run proved it to me.

2) Do not take a way you do not know at the end of your run when you are tired.

3) Be more cautious about hitting buttons on the ipod if you don’t want to lose your stats.

4) I rock.

Ok all, that is my story of the week, hope you all are gearing up for a great weekend! I have a busy one ahead.  Today is a client, some training, a light workout, house cleaning, Vampire Diary watching, etc.  Tomorrow I have to work and have 2 clients so will be a busy bee.  Sunday will be blissfully free for a nice 5 mile run to cap off my week.

Have a great weekend all!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. fattiefatterton permalink
    March 26, 2010 1:33 pm

    You totally rock, my friend!! I’m sorry that the workout was erased electronically, but it still happened. 😀 Woot woot!!

  2. March 26, 2010 3:05 pm

    So frustrating! Booo! But you really did rock the run! Even in the killer wind we’ve been having as of late…

    Have a good weekend! (and hopefully the Nike+ won’t be such a suck next time!)

  3. March 26, 2010 5:47 pm

    8 miles?!? Wow-o-wow!!! The most I’ve gone is 10K in a race last November. Yes, you do rock, and you’ll rock that 1/2 marathon, too!

  4. Erin permalink
    March 26, 2010 6:28 pm

    Ahhh that sucks!! I’ve had that happen to me before with my Nike Plus too. I have no idea how I did it either. Damn technology!

  5. DiningAndDishing permalink
    March 26, 2010 7:38 pm

    Sorry, that sounds soooo frustrating!! But you did an awesome run…more than I’ve ever run in my life!! 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. March 26, 2010 8:37 pm

    You do rock! Great job! Wind has to be the hardest thing to push through. You’re going to do awesome!

  7. March 26, 2010 8:41 pm

    #4 is so true!!! Awesome job! Now you know you can do anything after that run!

Leave a Reply

