Skip to content

Turtle Time and a Question for the Runners

March 23, 2010

Why oh why do I run so slow on the dreadmill?  You would think that running on the treadmill would make me run faster as I can control the speed.  But no.  I average about 35 seconds a mile SLOWER on the treadmill than outside.  So ANNOYING!!  But, it is a useful tool to help me get my miles in for half marathon training so I will go with it.  It’s not like I’m running this half for speed, just want to complete it.  But I get used to running a somewhat speedy (for me) 4 miles outside and then get on the treadmill and BLAH.

I did get a great workout in yesterday after my busy morning.  After taking a few days off my body was craving some exercise endorphins! I planned a great workout for myself and as soon as I was done with my jobs for the day I hit it.

Strength:

Squat with a row (cable machine/rope grip) 2 x 15 1st set 40 lbs 2nd set 50 lbs

Reverse lunges w/lift   2 x 15 holding 15 lb dumbbells (30 lbs)

21’s 2 sets 15 lb dumbbells (30 lbs)

pushups on the Smith machine bar 2 x 15

Dumbbell upright row with dumbbells 2 x 15 15 lbs (30 lbs)

Bench step ups holding dumbbells 2 x 15 each leg 10 lbs (20 lbs)

Single legged deadlifts with dumbbells 2 x 10 each leg with 10 lb dumbbells (20 lbs)

Decline situps on bench 2 x 15

Reverse crunches on floor 1 x 15

TRAINING STATS

30 mins, 257 calories, 135 average HR, 167 max HR

Then I hit the treadmill for my turtle run.  Slow and steady wins the race right??

TRAINING STATS

Total time: 53 minutes

Total run time: 41:50

Total mileage: 4.25 miles (.25 cooldown walk)

658 calories

163 average HR

184 max HR (I bumped the speed way up and sprinted out the end)

Overall an AWESOME workout and I left feeling pretty darn good.

QUESTION OF THE DAY:

IF YOU ARE TRAINING FOR A RACE, DOES IT MATTER IF YOU DO THAT WEEK’S RUNS OUT OF ORDER?  I AM CONSIDERING DOING MY SCHEDULED 8 MILER BEFORE MY SCHEDULED 5 MILER…DOES THIS AFFECT MY TRAINING???  CALLING ALL RUNNERS FOR OPINIONS!!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 12:42 pm

    hmmm…. I can’t help you with the question, but I know how you feel about running slower on the treadmill. For me, I think alot of it has to do with I get more excited about running outside, and I’m just more free to go without thinking about how fast I’m going!

  2. Claire permalink
    March 23, 2010 2:52 pm

    I think if you believe you can handle it, you should go for it. They are scheduled like that so you actually build up your stamina to handle longer and longer runs and so you don’t hurt yourself. But, you are a pretty steady exerciser so I don’t you will hurt yourself…maybe be a bit sore- but I’m sure that’s nothing new, right? When training for marathons, I do skip a long run here and there, but I try to keep it to a minimum. Keep it up Courtney, I like following your progress!

  3. DiningAndDishing permalink
    March 23, 2010 8:19 pm

    I’m slower on the dreadmill too…that’s cause it sucks!!! So much more motivating to be running in the beautiful outdoors :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  4. March 23, 2010 10:45 pm

    Whenever I was training for a longer race I just focused on getting my long run in for the week. Everything else was a bonus. I love the 3 day a week marathon training schedule because I think the key to running strong is cross training. Good luck, Amy

  5. fattiefatterton permalink
    March 24, 2010 3:12 am

    I am the same way – On the treadmill, I am stuck around 2.0 -2.1 mph. On the road, I’m 2.4-2.5.

  6. March 24, 2010 11:49 am

    The order of your runs doesn’t matter too much unless your running a long run and a speed work session in consecutive days.

Leave a Reply

