Skip to content

Weekend Warrior

March 15, 2010

Sorry to go missing for a few days!  I have been busy working two jobs, trying to take care of my house, hubby and dogs, get my workouts in and relax a little.  Things are going pretty well, but I’m not certain about the future of the blog.

I have loyal readers who I appreciate…but I’m not sure I will continue blogging forever.  Right now blogging a few times a week might be the right balance.  It is a great way to put my thoughts and accomplishments down on paper, but I’m just not sure I will keep going especially since I don’t have a huge following.

On to the stuff I haven’t reported!  First off, I got a GREAT package in the mail from Pom Wonderful.

100_3655

Georgie and Prince say “what can it be mom??”

100_3653 100_3652

Pom Wonderful contacted me and asked if I would like a case of their pomegranate juice to try out.  Of course I jumped at the chance! I’ve been wanting to try it for a while but didn’t want to buy it if I didn’t like since it isn’t cheap.

100_3656

Look for a post coming very soon about my thoughts on the juice.

Then I made some homemade trail mix.  I had a bunch of ingredients on hand so I made some up and put it in some little baggies and threw in my gym bag for on the go!

I put in 2/3 cup of each:

dried cranberries, chocolate chips, pumpkin seeds, peanuts, raisins

YUM!!!  Just as good as store bought and way cheaper.

100_3644 100_3647

On to the workouts!!

This is my latest upper body (arms, chest, back, shoulders, abs) workout that I’m addicted to right now and have done a few times over the past few days.

Shoulder press on bosu with 2 20 lb dumbbells (40) 3 x 15

Hammer curls standing on bosu with 2 20 lb dumbbells (40) 3 x 12

Dumbbell pullover on bosu with a hip bridge 25 lb dumbbell 3 x 12

Chest press machine 65 lbs 3 x 12

Wide grip lat pull down machine 3 x 15 80 lbs (note, this seems lighter at my new gym…the machines may be calibrated a bit different which is always interesting!!)

Twists with the cable machine 40 lbs 3 x 10 each side

Planks 45 seconds (combo of straight arm and forearm) 3 sets

Side toe touches 3 x 10 each side

I feel like I have made some progress and upped all my weights from the first time I did this workout a week or two ago. 

I also got to know the arc trainer again.  I did the hill interval program at the highest level (10) on Saturday for 30 minutes after doing the above strength workout and WOWZA!!! It was a good burn.

TRAINING STATS

30 mins on arc trainer, 4 minutes stretching, 34 mins total

Hill interval program level 10

384 calories

155 average HR

172 max HR

HALF MARATHON TRAINING

I had my longest run to date scheduled for Sunday.  I was scheduled for 7 miles, which is a HUGE jump from the 4 milers earlier in the week.  And although it wasn’t raining Sunday morning, it was cold, windy and damp.  But I sucked it up and started preparing.

I made myself some fuel in the form on peanut butter and banana on the Arnold Bagel thins we found.  Just like the sandwich thins but bagel form!

100_3658 100_3662

Then I filled up my water backpack.  My friend Tammy got this for me forever ago when we used to rollerblade a lot.  I decided to give it a try for long runs so I can get some hydration.

100_3664

It worked pretty well except for I could hear the water sloshing around and that bothered me a little.

I set out on my usual trail, but I had in mind some mileage I could add on.  This was a tough run.  Not so much physically, but mentally it was hard.  It was damp, it was windy, it was long. The hills seemed to be steeper and seemed never ending. I was running slower than I have been in order to pace myself and I was feeling every step of the way.  I kept trying to get myself excited and get that feeling of a great run but it wouldn’t come.

Finally I said screw it, I’m just going to focus on getting through it. I stopped a few times to stretch and drink my water, but other than that I ran a pretty decent time for me.  The last time I ran 7 miles was in January on the treadmill and I shaved 5 minutes off my time from then!

TRAINING STATS:

Total time including .35 mile warmup and cooldown stretching 1 hr 47 mins

Total running mileage: 7 miles, total run time 1: 15 (average pace 10:42 miles)

1234 calories

156 average HR

178 max HR

I did it! And this week I have on the schedule 4 miles, 5 miles, and 7 miles.  I also have clients to train (YAY!!!), training for the manager duties, my usual job and about a thousand other things.  So I’m off to get some of it going right now.

Thanks for sticking through this long post!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 12:35 pm

    I always wondered how the daily bloggers found time – especially those that write 2-3 times per day. Mine isn’t a healthy living blog, but I’m pretty happy getting in 1 post a week. Maybe that will work for you too. I don’t want to lose you, Prince, and George! 🙂 Have a great week. Amy

  2. March 15, 2010 12:46 pm

    Arizona time in now 2 hours behind the midwest…..your ambitious plans for the day and week are admirable! We’ll send some desert sunshine your way! Love Mom

  3. March 15, 2010 1:33 pm

    It can be rough doing it on such a regular basis, right? I took a break for a while and it really helped me… I never want blogging to be considered a “chore”. But I enjoy the updates from you! 🙂

  4. Cory permalink
    March 15, 2010 2:41 pm

    Court, we may not be aplenty, but we are loyal! I understand your need for balance, but please don’t leave us hangin…

    And ps – I made your chicken & spinach recipe again last night, but all I had was chicken tenders, so I just layered it all in a pan. Was still fantastic!! And healthy!!

    Great job on your run! Keep us posted!! I better get working on those posters…

  5. DiningAndDishing permalink
    March 15, 2010 8:31 pm

    oh lucky you with the POM juice!! now you can make those POM bellinis you were asking about!! 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. March 15, 2010 9:20 pm

    I hope you continue to at least occasionally blog. You have to let us know how your 1/2 goes!

  7. fattiefatterton permalink
    March 16, 2010 3:41 am

    Mmmmm, I love the Pom stuff.

    Wow, you are busy, but you sound very happy and that’s the important thing! 😀

  8. Jen permalink
    March 16, 2010 2:07 pm

    don’t go…

  9. Christina permalink
    March 16, 2010 2:22 pm

    I agree… don’t go.

    BTW, I tried the POM the other day and FANTASTIC! Love it. Just can’t afford it on a regular basis… the stuff isn’t cheap.

  10. March 16, 2010 3:06 pm

    7 miles is a fantastic run! You should be proud. A lot of people have trouble making it that far (me included)!

Trackbacks

  1. Weight Training Tips for Beginners

Leave a Reply

