Skip to content

Roasted Chickpeas and Work Week

March 11, 2010

Hi bloggies! Sorry for the disappearing act yesterday.  Getting up at 3:30 AM for work just kills the rest of my day.  Not looking forward to the clocks springing forward this weekend and feeling like it is 2:30 when I get up next Wednesday!

Anyways, let’s skip back to my 4 mile scheduled half marathon training run on Tuesday.

It was quite nice out and I set off of outside to do my run.  Walked about .2 miles to warmup and started to run.  Got .30 miles into my run and fumbled with my itouch effectively ENDING MY WORKOUT.  After the debacle of last week’s 6 mile run where I hit end workout 3 times I know now I need to go back to wearing my arm band with my itouch rather than just holding it.  I have been holding it so I can refer to my pace and mileage…but I’m sick of ending my workouts!

I decided to count the .30 I already ran as a warmup and started over.  I was running at a pretty decent clip although I struggled.  It was not an easy run, my breathing felt a little off and mentally I wanted to stop more than once.

But I made it, and at the end I had recorded my fastest mile yet using my itouch! This time Paula Radcliff (world famous marathoner) came on to congratulate me.  So fun.

TRAINING STATS

Warmup: .50 miles

Run: 4 miles, total mileage 4.50

Total time with warmup/cooldown stretching: 60 mins

Total run time: 39:20

(fastest mile 9:49)

735 calores

159 average HR, 182 max HR

I watched the Biggest Loser when I got home from my early morning work session on Wednesday and thought it was one of the best episodes in years!  The contestants had to get up in the morning and squeeze in a workout, then ride the bus to their “job” for 8 hours, then ride the bus home and squeeze in another hour of working out before the gym closed.  They worked at a food bank for 8 hours a day and had to figure out how they will do it at home when they aren’t working out 6 hours a day.  I thought it was a really great episode and I cried more than once. 

Then I made some roasted chickpeas!  I was looking for a crunchy but healthy snack and remembered my friend Christina (what up Maine!) telling me about these so I thought I would find the directions online and make some.  I looked at a few recipes and came up with this:

Courtney’s Roasted Chickpeas

1 can chickpeas, drained and dry

1 teaspoon olive oil

cooking spray

salt, garlic powder

First I opened up a can of chickpeas and drained in a colander in the sink while I pre-heated the oven to 425 degrees.

100_3635 100_3637

I sprayed a big cookie sheet with some cooking spray and spread the chickpeas on the tray.

100_3638 100_3639

I popped the tray in the oven for 10 minutes then pulled it out and dumped the chickpeas into a big glass bowl and added the olive, a dash of salt and a dash of garlic powder and stirred it up.

100_3640 100_3641

Dumped the ‘peas back on the cookie sheet and put back in the oven for another 10 minutes, keeping a close eye so they didn’t burn.  YUM! Crunchy and tasty snack…going to have some on a salad today.

100_3642

Whew…that was a long post.  I’m up pretty early this morning having some coffee and planning out my day.  I have a lot I need to do, plus have to work and then go to my new job and do a consult.  So I am a busy bee today.  Some of the chores may need to wait until tomorrow!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 1:33 pm

    I love roasted chickpeas! I throw them on salads and they replace the “crunch” I used to get from croutons…

  2. March 11, 2010 5:31 pm

    Pace yourself—TGIF is on the horizon!

  3. March 12, 2010 12:13 pm

    Great job on pushing through your run! Sometimes, you really just have to make yourself get through it.

  4. March 12, 2010 8:22 pm

    I’ve been dying to make roasted chickpeas–I love a crunchy little snack!

  5. DiningAndDishing permalink
    March 12, 2010 8:29 pm

    Yes, I do not know how you get out of bed that early!! I die on my early days and that’s 3 hours later than you!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. Christina permalink
    March 14, 2010 2:14 pm

    Love the shout out!
    We got the idea from Kate Metzel… she’s so smart! Yes, I love them, delicious!

Leave a Reply

