Skip to content

Wal-Mart Special

March 9, 2010

I have found some really cute and comfortable workout clothes lately at Wal-Mart!! Good thing, because my brother and I grabbed some lunch at Whole Paycheck (Whole Foods) yesterday and I needed all my money to pay for that!!

The pants have 2 zippered pockets and were 9 bucks.  The hoody was $9…I got it in a few colors and it washes up very nicely.  Got 2 tanks for $7 each.  The tanks were very comfortable and had a little pocket on the strap for an ipod nano or in my case a tube of carmex.  I’m VERY happy with my purchases and will buy more from Wal-Mart.  The brand is Danskin.

100_3633   100_3634

I had one appointment yesterday but she cancelled due to being sick.  So I took advantage and went and met my brother for a workout.  I worked out at his gym and got an AWESOME workout in while he did his thing.

We started by walking a few laps around the track and then I stayed in the gym part with a step and some dumbbells.

Walking weighted lunges the length of the gym and back x 3  12 lb dumbbells

Side step with squat the length of the gym and back x 3 

Weighted squats with 12 lb dumbbells x 50 (split up the 50 over the whole workout)

Plie squats x 50 (split up the 50 over the whole workout)

Pushups with hands on the bench 3 x 10

Step ups on step with a forward raise holding 5 lb dumbbells (had 4 risers under the step) 3×15

Step ups on step with a lateral raise with 5 lb dumbbells 3 x 15

Box jumps (or as I like to call them Wolverines) 3 x 15

Ran 1 fast lap in between each set

Then my bro and I took one of the kickboxing stands (the big ones on a stand filled with sand) into a hallway and pushed it up and down the hall as fast as we could until I thought I was going to die!! Good conditioning.

TRAINING STATS

45 minutes

450 calories

147 average HR

179 max HR

We hit Whole Foods after the workout so he could grab a few groceries and I made a big salad from the bar.  Wish I would have thrown my camera in my bag so I could document the fun, but I forgot it!!

Love hanging out with my brother and getting a workout on….he is a fun guy to work out with!!

QUESTION OF THE DAY: DO YOU HAVE A SIBLING? DO YOU HAVE THE SAME INTERESTS? DO YOU HANG OUT A LOT WITH YOUR SIBLING? 

I THINK MY BROTHER IS SUPER COOL AND I CONSIDER HIM A FRIEND AS WELL AS A BROTHER!

100_2250

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 1:47 pm

    I have a little bro that I adore (little as in younger, he’s about 10 inches taller than me!). I’m glad we both have the same kind of random sarcastic humor- it makes dinner table discussion a lot of fun when I go back home to visit. 🙂

  2. March 9, 2010 2:32 pm

    You could say that my brother and I have similar fitness interests. He’s a strength coach at the University of Louisville and has finished the Ironman. He’s just way ahead of where I am.

  3. Eric permalink
    March 9, 2010 3:00 pm

    Hey Courts –

    Thanks for the shout-out….how are those bag pushes treating you today? 🙂

  4. DiningAndDishing permalink
    March 9, 2010 8:21 pm

    I have a brother and a sister. I love them both dearly but my brother and I have WAY more in common!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  5. March 9, 2010 10:56 pm

    My older sister and I used to compete in everything. We were 3 years and 2 grades apart. She was a hard act to follow. She got her Bachelor’s in 2.5 years with a 4.0GPA and then graduated law school at 23. Now that we’re older we get along great. We’re 2 very different people and once we realized that and that we weren’t competing with each other everything fell into place. When I’m in the states I stay at her house and we run together, as well as with my mom. We talk a couple times a week, but I really wish I lived closer. Florida to Japan is a stretch! She and her family are coming to visit 02 April!! Woohoo!!

  6. March 10, 2010 12:43 pm

    I have a brother and sister. Brother lives in Nashville, Sister lives in KY. If I lived closer to my sister we would probably hang out most everyday. Our shared intrests include Target, TJ Max, mani/pedi. =)

  7. March 10, 2010 1:24 pm

    Just spent some quality time with your Aunt Rita yesterday—lunch at the Saddle Bronc in Fountain Hills Arizona—-I consider my sister a best friend! There’s just something special about family and the ties that bind!

  8. Lawgirl permalink
    March 12, 2010 2:04 am

    I love Danskin. 😀

    I am the youngest of 5, but I was an oops when my parents were 40. So, my siblings are 11, 16, 17, and 20 years older than I am. We’re not close because of that.

    http://fattiefatterton.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

