Skip to content

Thunderstruck by Spin

March 8, 2010

Good Monday morning everyone! I am up bright and early, ready to face a new week.  Well, it isn’t so bright here, more like foggy.  But it seems pretty mild outside and I am hoping the temps are going to stay over freezing this week.

Here was my fuel for my Sunday morning spin class:

100_3630

I had an English muffin with Skippy Natural Super Chunk and a sliced banana! Yum.  I don’t usually like mixing bananas in with other food but for some reason this sounded delicious to me this morning.

Then I headed to spin class. I was so excited because I haven’t been in a week and I was missing it!  I was under the impression it started at 8:15 AM but it actually started at 8! Luckily I got there right at 8 and ran in and jumped on a bike.

I never had this instructor before and she did a few different things that I liked.  Sussuidio by Phil Collins came on and we did ONE LEGGED intervals! Wowzers.  This was about halfway through the workout so my legs were fairly tired, not to mention the 6 mile run from Saturday.  I was damning Sussuidio the whole time LOL.

Now those that know me well, know that my high school mascot was the Seymour Thunder.  It’s a long story, but one of the coolest things about it is that we used Thunderstruck by AC/DC as our theme song.  Thunderstruck came on during spin and I couldn’t help but have a big smile on my face the entire song even though she had us up out of the saddle going hard as we could for 4 minutes!  Represent Seymour High!!!!

TRAINING STATS

20.4 miles

56 minutes (including cooldown/stretch)

535 calories (was a little low compared to some other classes)

142 average

166 max

This class definitely did not push me to the brink the way some other spin classes have, but I enjoyed it and got a good sweat on.

I headed upstairs and did some upper body strength work after the class.

Strength workout:

Dumbbell shoulder press standing on bosu 3 x 15 (15 lb dumbbells)

Hammer curl standing on bosu 3 x 15 (15 lb dumbbells)

Dumbbell pullover on bench 3 x 15 (20 lbs)

Chest press machine 3 x 15 (60 lbs)

Wide grip lat pulldown 3 x 15 (70 lbs)

Standing twists on dual cable cross machine 3 x 10 each side (30 lbs)

Planks 3 x 30 seconds each

V-ups on floor 3 x 10

This was a great way to cap off my workout and my upper body was as shaky as my lower body by the time I was done!

Here are some random supermodel shots of me in my pink hat that I am obsessed with lately and wear all the time!

100_3624 100_3627

Went to Wal-Mart after the gym and got a few things done around the house.  Watched the Blackhawks lose :<   And then took a very satisfying 2 hour nap!!!

Great weekend overall.  I’m decently busy this week so far, and have a feeling it is going to get even busier so I am getting going on it nice and early.

HALF MARATHON TRAINING

Last week I put in my 14 total miles for half marathon training (4 miles, 4 miles, 6 miles)

On the schedule this week:

4 miles

4 miles

7 miles

Based on weather/other factors i will see when I can squeeze these runs in.  Yipppppeeeee!

Have a great Monday!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. fitlizzio permalink
    March 8, 2010 3:30 pm

    that hat is so cute!! i love all your supermodel shots you are too funny.

    i so wish i could get into spinning, but i just don’t like it. i’ve tried a bunch of different classes, but i guess its just not my thing. it always sounds fun though haha

  2. March 8, 2010 8:10 pm

    Phil Collins in spin class?? Interesting choice of music. I love it when instructors surprise me with a song I wouldn’t expect.

  3. March 8, 2010 9:46 pm

    Awesome workouts and the breakfast does look amazing! I am head to spin followed by Yogalates tonight : )

  4. DiningAndDishing permalink
    March 8, 2010 9:52 pm

    great work with the spinning class. after it nearly killed me last time i’ve decided it’s not for me…so i admire your stamina!!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  5. March 9, 2010 7:17 am

    Reading your blog always remind me that I need to step up my workouts. I usually do ok in the cardio department, but my strength training is pathetic!

Leave a Reply

