Skip to content

Lance Armstrong speaks to me

March 1, 2010

Sunday morning I started off my day knocking things off my to-do list.  I know I’m finally feeling better because I actually had some energy and motivation!  Got the house cleaned and tidied, laundry and other machines emptied, tasty breakfast, and I was ready to hit the road!

I’m determined to do as much running as I can outside as I begin my half marathon training.  I don’t mind doing up to about 5 miles on the treadmill, that usually takes me around 60 minutes. But that is my limit!  So as I start putting longer miles in I need to be outside.

Kicked it off yesterday on my usual country route.  Although it was about 37 degrees, there were HUGE snowflakes coming down.  I needed windshield wipers for my glasses!

100_3550

This is definitely NOT my  Lindsey Vonn camera ready face!!!   LOL!!!

I took off on my route and walked for about 5 minutes to get warmed up and then took off.  I haven’t run outside in a while and I do a fairly hilly trail, so it was hard at first.  My heart rate was pretty high up there and the snow was coming down.  But I was kicking butt as I warmed up!  I had great tunes and was really going fast.  I looked down at my ipod and was going under a 9 minute mile pace for a while.  WOWZERS!! That is darn fast for me.  I for sure run faster outside.

I made it back to my house and was walking for a cooldown and hit the “end workout” button on my ipod (I use the Nike plus feature).  I got all my usual ending stats and then suddenly I hear a voice:  “This is Lance Armstrong”  WHAT THE WHAT?? That doesn’t usually happen!!  He congratulated me on my best mile ever.  I ran one of the miles in 9:55.  Heee haw!!!  That was pretty cool.

TRAINING STATS

Total time: 53:11 (this includes warmup, cooldown and a few nose blowing breaks)

Total running time: 39:21, 4 miles

Total distance:  4.5 miles

(I did the 5k part..or 3.1 miles in 30:30 which is getting close to my goal of a 30 minute 5k!!!)

690 calories

average heart rate 167

max heart rate 188

It felt great to get back to it.

I have another 4 mile run and a 6 mile run scheduled for this week in my training plan.

Last night my quads, hammies and glutes were SORE from the hilly outside run.  I’m looking forward to getting my body used to the outdoors running again and really start putting the miles in.

Ok, off to eat breakfast and get ready for my day.

ANYONE ACHIEVE ANYTHING GREAT THIS WEEKEND? GO FOR A LONG RUN? HIT A NEW CLASS? UP YOUR WEIGHTS?  BRAG A LITTLE HERE AND LET US ALL KNOW!! LEAVE IT IN THE COMMENTS.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 2:19 pm

    Good job on the outside run!

    Although I’d be a little creeped out if Lance started talking to me mid-cooldown! he he

  2. fitlizzio permalink
    March 1, 2010 3:17 pm

    haha that is hilarious about the lance armstrong thing….i can just imagine cooling down and all the sudden lance is talking to you. haha good stuff.

    • March 1, 2010 3:24 pm

      Yeah, it startled me when all of a sudden I hear “this is LANCE ARMSTRONG” Hee hee!!!

  3. March 1, 2010 10:40 pm

    Lance Armstrong as your personal trainer. You could do a whole lot worse!

  4. March 1, 2010 11:17 pm

    I took 8 kids hiking and we all made it back safe and sound. I guess that’s an accomplishment. 🙂

  5. DiningAndDishing permalink
    March 1, 2010 11:52 pm

    haha, love the hat! makes you look badass 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. Christina permalink
    March 2, 2010 12:18 am

    hey! Tell me more about this Lance Armstrong thing… I’ve heard just a little bit about it, but I want to know more… do I need the special Nike iPod shoe thing? I heard there was a running thing on iTunes you can get to… details Courtney… details!

  7. March 2, 2010 2:36 am

    Nothing to brag about over here other than eating like a champ! =) You are rocking your runs! It’s rare that someone runs faster outside than on the treadmill, so you’ve got a good thing going!

Leave a Reply

