Skip to content

Too Much Makeup?

February 25, 2010

I was watching the Olympics with my husband last night, and a topic of conversation came up again that I had been having a few times since the Olympics started.  Lindsey Vonn was being interviewed after her ski run and had on a perfect, full face of makeup.  Mascara, eyeliner, shadow, blush, the works.  It all looked perfect too even after she took a bad tumble.

I remarked to my husband that I was surprised to see how “camera ready” she was…I was surprised an athlete was wearing that much makeup while competing.  My thought was that she knows she is the face of women’s skiing..and somewhat the face of the women athletes in the Olympics and will be interviewed quite often no matter how she performs so wants to look good.

I just thought it was an interesting contrast to some of the other women athletes who quite obviously were wearing no makeup at all, or not so obviously just wearing a bit.

When I go to the gym, if I am already wearing makeup, I just leave it.  Don’t take it off, but don’t add to it.  I figure I will be washing it off shortly after my workout anyways.

If I’m not wearing any makeup, I check myself out in the mirror and if I have a huge and glaring blemish I might put a little coverup on and if I’m looking even paler than usual maybe a swipe of blush, but that is it.

As a younger woman I was way more concerned about my appearance in the gym and would not have gone with a totally clean face.  Now I don’t care as much.  But I know this is because I have grown into my confidence and I am more mature in general.

Wondering what your thoughts are on women athletes wearing makeup?  I think Lindsey Vonn had on way too much last night.  She looked red carpet ready.  I would understand a little bit of makeup…but she had on the whole “face.” 

For instance, I have a couple of different makeup “looks” as I’m sure some of you do.  I have the more “natural” face (what it takes to be natural is pretty dumb!!) which is some coverup, blush, mascara and lip gloss.  Then I have the whole “face” which adds in eyeshadow and liner.  I guess I was surprised to see what looked like the whole “face” on Lindsey.

As for going to the gym, I would prefer not to wear any at all, but I understand why some women do. (not putting your hair up in a ponytail or off your face is a whole other post topic!!!)

WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT WOMEN ATHLETES WEARING MAKEUP TO COMPETE? DO YOU WEAR MAKEUP TO THE GYM?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. fitlizzio permalink
    February 25, 2010 1:29 pm

    i think if your wearing a little bit of mascara or something then fine, but full blown makeup to the gym is just ridiculous(unless you already had it on…then that’s totally understandable.)

    if i were in the olympics though, i’d probably wear makeup too. i mean she knew she would be on camera in front of the entire WORLD, so, i think i let that slide 🙂

    • February 25, 2010 1:36 pm

      I know…that is what I told my husband. I think she knows she is the face of women’s skiing and that she would be on camera so she dolled it up!!
      He had a good point too that the goggles cover most of their faces so it’s not like the makeup is going to smear in the snow/wind/etc.
      Just think it is interesting the contrast of the ones that do wear makeup and then the ones that don’t wear a drop!

  2. February 25, 2010 2:44 pm

    i NEVER wear makeup to the gym (and normally i wear clothes with bleech stains, but that’s another story)

    I’m at the gym to sweat and workout, not for a fashion show.

    Although, I might feel differently if I knew millions of people were watching me from their homes 😉

  3. DiningAndDishing permalink
    February 25, 2010 3:18 pm

    Interesting topic! I don’t wear any makeup to the gym and I don’t spend a lot on clothes. My attitude is, I’m there to be healthy, not to look good. But I think that varies from person to person. As long as you’re at the gym…good for you! I think whatever it takes to make each person feel comfortable while there is up to them :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  4. February 25, 2010 4:11 pm

    I’m the same as you- if it’s on, I leave it on. Which leads to some interesting looks if I had long night out the night before and forgot to take off the eye makeup… ha! But I’ve noticed, in general, my makeup “consumption” has seriously decreased the last couple of years. I prefer the natural look nowdays…

    And I think it’s funny about Lindsay- if I knew I’d be interviewed, the foundation would have been on, but really? No need to go all out. We’re not judging her looks…

  5. February 25, 2010 4:33 pm

    Since I work out during my work day, I usually have makeup on. After my workout, I will wipe my face off except my eyes and not even touch up. Unless I have a meeting! People who get ready before hitting the gym, that’s kind of silly and a waste of effort. For the Olympics, I would totally rock the full face though!

  6. fattiefatterton permalink
    February 25, 2010 10:19 pm

    I don’t wear it to the gym if I can help it, as I don’t want to have it on while I’m sweatin’ away.

    I agree with Retta – I think that if it’s the Olympics and I know that I’m going to be on camera all of the time, heck yeah! 😀

  7. February 25, 2010 11:16 pm

    I don’t wear make-up any day. My husband knows it’s a “fancy night” if I put on eye liner. I’m not opposed to make-up – I just don’t know how to apply it. I’d probably learn how to put it on if I had to be on TV! 🙂

  8. February 26, 2010 12:15 pm

    I noticed her red carpet ready face. I don’t wear make-up while working out. I barely wear make-up at all period. However, if I were going to be on camera and money could potentially be on the line, I would have a full face of professional make-up. I guess that assuming my Olympic even isn’t the marathon or a running event cause I’d just look like a sad clown with all that running down my face. Look at Kara Goucher, never a stitch of make-up and yet beautiful!

  9. RobP permalink
    February 27, 2010 8:54 pm

    I think lindsey vonn might wanna focus on how she does on the slopes more than how she looks after a race on camera! she is the only Athlete at the Vancouver olympics that wears makeup for such an active and physically demanding sport… I am an American but she might do better, maybe even finish in some cases, if she wasn’t so worried about looking good fro the camera!

Trackbacks

  1. 95% there « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

