Skip to content

Dumplings and Earthquakes

February 10, 2010

I just have to share the awesome recipe I made yesterday with you all, but first my exciting morning!

Ok, to be honest it is not as exciting as it sounds, but there was an earthquake here in northeastern Illinois this morning.

I was up at 3:30 am getting ready for my opening shift at the gym.  I started my car, and the garage door was open, so I when I heard a large rattling and thundering noise, I assumed it was a snow plow going down our street.  We’ve gotten around a foot of snow over the last 2 days, so I was expecting some clean up crews to come through.  I heard a very loud booming, thundering noise.

Aren’t dogs supposed to sense these things?? Mine stayed snuggled in bed with Daddy the whole time!

I got in my car and pulled out of my driveway and promptly got STUCK in my unplowed street.  hmmmm….what was that noise?!  I turned on the AM news radio and heard the breaking news: reports of a 3.8 magnitude earthquake!!!  Freaky.  I threw on the 4 wheel drive and powered to work.  The combo of a blizzard and an earthquake obviously was a good excuse for people to skip the gym because it was dead there today.

Made for a good conversation starter today though!

Back to yesterday.  I made chicken and dumplings in the crockpot…and oh.my.goodness were these good!

The recipe is also fairly healthy, I plan to enter the recipe into Spark People later and figure out the nutritional stats.

I didn’t have any “cream of something” soup on hand, so I made a homemade roux (combo of butter, flour and milk) to replace it and was very happy with how it turned out and less artificial ingredients than those cream soups.

COURTNEY’S CROCKPOT CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS

Ingredients:

4 chicken breasts

1/2 a large onion

frozen veggies of your choice (I used 1/4 bag peas and 1 bag super immunity blend)

1/2 can chicken broth (I used fat free, low sodium)

Roux:

1 tablespoon butter

3 tablespoons flour

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup chicken broth (fat free, low sodium)

salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste

Dumplings:

1.5 cups Heart Smart Bisquick Mix

1/2 cup skim milk

My lineup:

100_3507  100_3508

100_3509 100_3510

I started by placing 4 chicken breasts into my crockpot and covering with 1/2 a chopped onion, 1/4 a bag of frozen peas, 1/2 can chicken broth and a random package of immunity boost veggies I had in the freezer for a while.  It had carrots, broccoli, red and orange peppers.  Yum!

I started the crockpot on the 8 hours on low setting and covered.

Meanwhile I prepped my roux as the stand in for the cream soup.

First I put the butter and flour together and cooked on low until smooth.

100_3511

Then I added the chicken broth, milk and seasonings and turned the heat up to medium low and stirred constantly until the roux was nice and thick. 

100_3515

Then I added the roux to the crockpot and covered it back up.

I let this cook for about 2 hours and then prepped the dumplings.  The prep included mixing the Bisquick and the milk together and dropping it on top of the mixture in the crockpot.  I recovered it and let it cook till the hubs got home from work.

100_3516 100_3518

This was in the words of my husband:  a keeper!

Such tasty comfort food that was easy and convenient.  I will post the nutritional stats after I get it figured out.

QUESTION OF THE DAY:

HAVE YOU EVER EXPERIENCED AN EARTHQUAKE OR OTHER NATURAL DISASTER? WHAT DID IT FEEL LIKE?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 4:25 pm

    I can’t believe I slept through it! I know it wasn’t strong in our area, but still! I’m so out of it today… lol

  2. DiningAndDishing permalink
    February 10, 2010 5:51 pm

    I can’t believe you guys had an earthquake!! Glad you are okay.

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  3. February 10, 2010 9:04 pm

    No earthquake, but I was once on vacation in FL during a hurricane. What a crazy day!

  4. fattiefatterton permalink
    February 11, 2010 1:59 am

    Other than my own life, I have not experienced a natural disaster. 😀

Leave a Reply

