Skip to content

I Feel Like Getting Lost

February 2, 2010

Today is a very, very special day.  It is the day that the final season of LOST begins!!!  My hubby and I started watching Lost about halfway through the first season and got hooked.  Lost nights are sacred.  We shut off the phones, lock the doors and are glued to the tv.  It is our only true “appointment television.”  If the dogs are being too crazy sometimes we even put them upstairs and close the basement door.  NOTHING can interfere with our enjoyment.  Can’t wait to see what is revealed and how it all ends.  Oh, and Sawyer with no shirt on only adds to the enjoyment.

Anyone else out there a Lost fan?

And of course the most important debate:  Jack or Sawyer??  I am a Sawyer fan all the way!

Revolutions Revisited

It has been a month since I posted my New Year’s Revolutions.  I thought it would be good to revisit my goals and see how I have been doing.  I know I have been slacking a bit on some, now is a good time to get back on track with my goals before time slips away.

Here are my original goals, my updates are below preceded by *****

Do yoga once a week

–I currently work Wednesday mornings from 5 AM – 9 AM and there is a yoga class at 9:15 AM.  I’m hoping this schedule stays the same and I go straight from work to yoga once a week

*****This goal was going pretty well until I had some scheduling conflicts the last few weeks.  I will be getting back on track with this yoga class after this week as I do enjoy it and feel like it is a good challenge.  Grade:  B-

Get back in the pool

–I want to continue to compete in triathlon events, and I need to get my swimming up to par.  I need to start incorporating swimming back in my workouts at least once a week, more when it gets closer to triathlon season. I need to start planning my weekly workouts, making sure I incorporate all the elements I want to work on.

*****Um, this one has NOT happened.  I’m sad to say I still have not gotten back into the pool.  I don’t really have an excuse.  I have not planned for any pool workouts, therefore I am not doing any!  (fail to plan, plan to fail, blah blah blah)  Grade: F

Take a spin class once a week

–This is another triathlon related goal.  While I can’t bike outside right now, I can keep my biking muscles working by spinning, just need to schedule it into my workout plan.

*****This was another goal that went well initially, but my schedule has not been able to accamodate a class lately.  Also, the beginning of the year at a gym leads to classes that are PACKED, and as an employee I must give my spot to a “paying guest” so I think this goal will pick back up after the crowd dies down a little.  Grade: B-

Complete a half marathon

–I plan to run the Green Bay Cellcom Half Marathon in May 2010.  My official 12 week training will start end of February, but in the meantime I will continue to run for fitness.

*****I officially signed up for the half marathon and have to date done a long run of 7 miles.  I feel like I’m on track to complete my first half marathon and look forward to starting my training plan at the end of February!  Grade: A

Complete 2 triathlons

–I plan to sign up for at least 2 triathlons as my schedule and budget permits.

*****No progress on this as of yet, mainly because it is snowing right now!  Grade: incomplete

Continue to improve my 5k time

–I plan to sign up for as many 5k’s as my schedule and budget allow. In the meantime I will be training both indoors and out for some speed!

*****This is going well as I continue to add to my endurance and do some speedwork on the treadmill, and I actually got outside for a run with a great pace this past weekend.  I’m confident I will achieve this goal!  Grade: A

Volunteer with Girls on the Run

–More on this to come, but I’ve started looking into volunteering for this program as a way to pay forward my interest and passion for health and fitness.

*****I printed off the application and began filling it out, now I’m waiting to see how my schedule is going to shake out for the next few months before I commit to a certain time I can volunteer.  Grade:  C

Complete my Lifestyle and Weight Management Consultant cert

–Study, study, study!

*****ooooops I have not yet started my studying, but I do have all the materials.  Once again a case of needing to plan or I will fail!  Grade:  incomplete

Focus on a clean, unprocessed diet that fuels me for all the above activities!

–As usual, this is my biggest challenge and I will need to create a new plan to help support myself in keeping my diet clean.

*****Now that I have my CLICK PLAN in place, I am confident I will continue to achieve this goal.  Grade:  B

Conclusion

Well, I’ve done so-so on the Revolutions I’ve set for myself.  However, I have achieved a few things that were not on my original list such as kicking up my strength training a few notches, scoring a gig teaching boot camp, and throwing my hat in the ring for a personal training job at my gym.  I feel like these are some great REVOLUTIONS that have enhanced my overall lifestyle and I am proud of.

Now that I have re-visited my original goals, I see where I need to plan ahead in order to achieve what I have set out for myself.  I am going to re-set and move forward on everything I want to do.

Did you set any New Year’s Revolutions?  How is your progress? Do you need to re-visit and re-set?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 3:50 pm

    OMG SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO excited about LOST! YAY!

  2. February 2, 2010 4:26 pm

    Life stops in our house as well when Lost is on. I’m sad that this will be the final season premiere tonight but I’m so excited that it’s back!

    Great job on the goals! It’s understandable that you don’t get straight A’s on everything after the first month. You have plenty of time to catch up on the others. Keep it up!

  3. February 2, 2010 4:35 pm

    I am SO excited about Lost!! There will be violence at our house if anyone thinks about touching the DVR!

  4. Jen permalink
    February 2, 2010 5:33 pm

    I think you’re being hard on yourself when it comes to what you’ve accomplished this year. It’s important to look at your goals as you move along through life, but maybe next time include a list of things that weren’t part of the original plan, but are propelling you toward your goal – those items are significant accomplishments.

    Keep up the excellent work!!

  5. DiningAndDishing permalink
    February 2, 2010 6:54 pm

    you made so many resolutions!!! considering, you are doing great! just keep at it! 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. February 2, 2010 11:26 pm

    We used to watch Lost, but when we moved overseas the schedule got all ridiculous (we usually get shows 6-12 months later than the US). Boo.

    It looks like you have a lot on your plate. I agree with you – making a plan is the key to success. Keep on doing great things. 🙂 Amy

  7. February 3, 2010 1:48 pm

    Don’t throw anything at me, but I don’t watch Lost. Never have and don’t plan on catching up anytime soon. =)

    I also did not make any resolutions, but I did make a few small goals for myself. I need to make some more. Looks like your doing a good job of staying on top of yours.

Leave a Reply

