Skip to content

Me v. the elements

February 1, 2010

I won!!!

Sunday morning I decided I needed some fresh air and vitamin D.  I had not run outside since early December.  I hadn’t been outside for more than a few minutes in forever.

It was time to take on the elements. 

I headed out and it was 25 degrees but the sun was out.  I forgot to take a pic and I’m mad cuz I looked funny.  I had on a long sleeve tight shirt, over that a hoodie, over that a big fleece, plus running tights.  I should have worn another pair of pants because my booty was cold, but it was ok.

This was my first time using my Nike plus outside and the first time my new shoes had touched pavement.

I walked about .25 of a mile to warmup and then took off on my usual country route.

It was cold and I was running into the wind but it felt GREAT!!!  Fresh (albeit cold) air in my lungs, sun shining on me, frozen snot, etc.  I was able to sing out loud as I ran down the road and it was awesome!

I was definitely running faster more easily outside than I do on the dreadmill.

I turned the corner at 1.73 and headed back on my route and now the wind was at my back.  I ran even faster and was sweating! I had to take my gloves off at this point.  I finished with running 3.73 miles in 38:21.  That is darn skippy good for me and I felt great about it.  I can only imagine if it was a little warmer how much my running has improved.

TRAINING STATS

Total time: 50 minutes (included warmup and cooldown)

Total mileage: 4 miles (3.75 running)

636 calories

166 average HR

186 max HR

I noticed my heart rate was much higher running outside as my body had to work hard to keep me warm as I ran.

I will be repeating this outside run soon because I felt so much better after getting outside for a bit!  Even working on Sunday night wasn’t so bad with the feel of a little bit of wind burn on my cheeks.

I’m off to work today, have a second interview for the personal training position and then have to teach boot camp! It is a full day for me.  Looking forward to Tuesday which is technically my “Sunday” after a working weekend!

Happy Monday to all…I will catch up on reading all your blogs tomorrow…in the meantime, hope you have a great week.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. DiningAndDishing permalink
    February 1, 2010 6:29 pm

    I agree, running outside is soooo much more enjoyable than on a boring old treadmill!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. February 1, 2010 7:45 pm

    I feel like the weather has been getting nicer for running? Or is it just me getting used to the bitter cold? I can’t decide.

    But way to go! I’m going to check out mapmyruns or something to get started!

  3. February 1, 2010 7:56 pm

    Good luck with your interview! Running outside is also harder than running inside, so that could be why your heart rate was higher than normal. Either way, glad you enjoyed the outdoor run.

  4. February 1, 2010 11:15 pm

    Awesome pace! I definitely like running outside more than the treadmill. 🙂

  5. February 2, 2010 3:35 am

    Good job getting out on the pavement today

    I ran for the first time in a while too today, it was about 30 degrees and around the second mile I couldn’t feel my hands but I made it to mile 3.

    That’s funny the thing I run on in the gym is called a dreadmill…must be the same company.

Leave a Reply

