Skip to content

Basement Booty Kicking Boot Camp

January 30, 2010

Happy Saturday to all!! I got LOTS of sleep last night (thank GOD) so I’m ready to roll.  I have to represent my gym at a local expo today, so I’m going to be eating some breakfast and getting out the door, but first I wanted to do a very special dorky photo shoot and post for you.

I didn’t feel like driving to the gym yesterday, but I did feel like getting my sweat on.  Enter the booty kicking basement boot camp!  First let me take you on a tour of the facilities!  (I took all these pics this morning, in my pajamas, wet hair, it was VERY spontaneous dorky)  HAHAHAHAHAH

WARNING: LOTS OF SERIOUS DORK AHEAD

First off we have the treadmill.  Please note the price!! HOLLA!! We bought this a few years ago at a second hand sporting goods store. It isn’t fancy, but gets the job done!

100_3459 100_3458

Here I am in ACTION!

100_3464 100_3465

Second piece of cardio equipment, the stairs:

100_3472

I have a set of 8 pound dumbbells that I don’t even remember buying and a 15 pound kettlebell courtesy of my bro! The kettlebell is resting on my fancy black mat.

100_3460 100_3461

Action shot!!!
100_3466 100_3470

I’m out of control.

Ok, of course we have the yoga mat and foam roller!! Yippeee!!!

100_3462

Here I am demonstrating my hard core ab workout.

In slipper.

And non matching pajamas.

And wet hair.

I told you I’m glamorous!

100_3471 100_3473

Notice the bone and dog towel….very chic.

Anyways, now that the dork fest is over, on to the workout!
I did 5 minute intervals on the treadmill followed by strength.

Circuit 1:

Treadmill: 1 min 3.0 mph, 1 min 3.5 mph, 3 mins. 5.0 mph

Forward lunges with a hammer curl with dumbbells 12 each leg

Shoulder press with dumbbells x 12

Triceps extension x 12

Circuit 2:

Treadmill: 1 min 3.0 mph, 1 min 3.5 mph, 3 mins. 5.0 mph

Abs:  V ups x 10 each leg

Crunches x 20

Reverse crunches x 20

Circuit 3:

Treadmill: 1 min 3.0 mph, 1 min 3.5 mph, 3 mins. 5.0 mph

Squat with lateral raise holding dumbbells x 12

Pushups on stairs x 12

Bent over row x 12

I repeated the circuits, but I bumped up the treadmill intensity on the second round:

Circuit 4: 1 min 3.3 mph, 1 min 3.8 mph, 3 mins 5.3 mph

Circuit 5: 1 min 3.5 mph, 1 min 4.0 mph, 3 mins 5.5 mph

Circuit 6: repeat first

I was at about 48 minutes for my workout, so to round it up to 60 minutes I walked at a 3.5 mph with a 3% incline holding my 8 pound dumbbells for 11 minutes, then dropped the dumbbells and cooled down for a few minutes.

TRAINING STATS

63 minutes—44 minutes on treadmill totaling 3 miles

615 calories

143 average HR

172 max HR

What a great workout!!!! That one is going in the binder for sure.

Ok…hope you are all having a great Saturday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. fitlizzio permalink
    January 30, 2010 3:44 pm

    hahaha! i want to come to basement boot camp!

  2. January 30, 2010 9:56 pm

    You’ve got quite the setup there. Another set or two of weights and I’d start charging a fee… lol

Leave a Reply

