Skip to content

I’m on a mission to make the “click!”

January 28, 2010

Ok, it is time to get SERIOUS.

My 34th birthday is in 4 months, and I am setting a very serious goal of losing 30 pounds before June 1.

Anyone out there need to lose a few pounds and want to join me? I need all the help I can get!

I had a serious conversation with my husband this past weekend about how I had made the “click” in my brain with exercise and it feels so good.  I love to exercise, I crave it, I have made it a habit, and I do it consistently.

I have not made the “click” with my diet.  I’m frustrated that I’m sabotaging my efforts at exercise by not properly fueling my body.

I need to make that “click” happen! 

So I’m making a plan.  I love to make plans, and you know what I always say “fail to plan and plan to fail!”  I need to take my own advice because I have been failing at losing this 30 pounds.

Here is my CLICK PLAN:

#1) I’m getting a complete physical including blood work done next week.  There are people in my family with thyroid issues, and I want to rule out any medical issues.

#2) Continue with my consistent and well planned out workouts.

#3) Drink lots of water.  I already do this, but I want to continue.  I don’t drink my calories (soda, sugary coffee drinks, juice, etc) so that is one area I’m already succeeding in.

#4) Track my food using Spark People. 

I know I have talked about Spark People before, and it is a great resource for anyone looking to live a healthy lifestyle.  I already track all my exercise on their website, and now I need to get back to tracking my food.  This will allow me to track my calories, along with my macros (protein, fat, carbs).  Calorie counting is not for everyone, but it will be important for me as I attempt to lose this weight.

There is even an application on my itouch that I use for Spark People, so I don’t have any reason not to track my food.  Planning and making tracking a habit will be critical for me to succeed, so I will be blogging about my efforts so I stay accountable.

I need to track my food EVERY DAY.  I also spoke with my trainer about planning my food for the day out in advance, and sticking to it.  I plan my workout in advance and stick to it, I need to do the same with my diet.

Basically once I get my plan in place and get in the habit of sticking to it and recording everything, I think I can be very successful.

I just need to get it to CLICK.

Therefore I am calling my new plan the CLICK PLAN.

I do not have the desire to post my current weight or pics of me in a bikini to measure my progress…wish I did have the guts but I don’t!  However, I will keep everyone informed of my progress and stats.

If anyone else is interested in joining me on Spark People, send me an email to adventuresintri @ yahoo.com.  I will get you my user name so you can look me up.  There are shared food and exercise trackers!  Such a great resource.

________________________________________________________________

For some reason I can’t get my cursor to line back up on the left!

I am interviewing this afternoon for a personal training position at my gym.  I’m not getting too excited either way for the position.  The reality is I’m still getting experience in my field, and there are others out there applying for the job that have more experience. However, I think it is important to at least throw my hat in the ring.  Even if I don’t get the position, it is good practice to interview, and in 3 months there could be another opening that I would be more qualified for.

I’m not being negative, just realistic! I’m enjoying teaching boot camp, working on the fitness floor and consulting work right now, so if I don’t get the gig it will be ok.  Although it would be great if I did.  So either way I’m just going to try and see what happens.

Hope you are all having a great week…it is almost Friday!

 

 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 4:21 pm

    I’ll join in. I’m not in big weight loss mode but I would like to get back down to 190. I started the year at 202. I’m down to about 198 right now so I’m getting there. I’m weighing in weekly at both the gym and at work. Accountability really helps!

    You can definitely make your goal by then! It only takes about a pound a week. Very doable! Especially for someone who spends as much time at the gym as you do.

  2. January 28, 2010 4:22 pm

    Good luck! My friend from the gym and I are working on a way to make February a “healthier” month in all aspects of our lives (we would pick the shortest month of the year to do so- ha)… so I’ll be right there with you.

    I’ve used Fitday.com before and will probably use that again since I sort of know my way around it. I hate counting calories, but for me, it’s not so much the calorie count (which does need to be watched- just not obsessively like i sometimes do) but my protein vs carbs vs fats intake needs work.

  3. Michelle permalink
    January 28, 2010 4:25 pm

    I’m in Courtney! We can do this!
    I suffer from thyroid disease and has recently been adding to my weight frustration! The only problem with full blood panel is it only does a preliminary screen for thyroid issues. Do you have any other symptoms of thyroid disease? Email me if you have more questions, I’d be happy to help! This has been an ongoing battle for me for over 5 years, so I have done LOTS of research!
    I read your blog daily, love your healthy eating recipes! Thanks for sharing!

    • January 29, 2010 2:04 pm

      Thanks Michelle! I do not currently have any symptoms of thyroid issues, but figured it didn’t hurt to check it out just to make sure since I have a few relatives with issues. Hope you are doing well with dealing with your thyroid. I’m sure it is frustrating to not be able to control it!

  4. DiningAndDishing permalink
    January 28, 2010 4:27 pm

    Best of luck to you Courtney! I know you will do great. You have so much motivation already!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  5. January 28, 2010 6:15 pm

    Good luck! 🙂 You’ll do awesome, especially with all the people who are on board with you as well!

  6. christina permalink
    January 28, 2010 7:29 pm

    You’re aggressive! 30 pounds in 17 weeks is going to be a challenge… but you’ll get there.
    I’ve been tracking ALL my food online too… it’s really the only thing that helps me get enough of the right kind of food. Otherwise I try to “diet” and I starve myself without realizing it, which is counter productive and doesn’t drop any weight.
    Keep us updated on how it goes!

  7. January 28, 2010 11:20 pm

    Woohoo! Sounds good. I love exercising too, but from the trainers I’ve talked to getting the results you want is about 75% nutrition! Boo! I’m in for 15. Thanks for the kick in the butt. Amy
    P.S. Prince and Georgie miss being on the blog. 🙂

    • January 29, 2010 2:02 pm

      Yes, unfortunately nutrition is really the biggest part of the equation!! Which is why I’m sick of sabotaging my hard exercise work by not being as dedicated with my diet. Here we go!! Oh, and lots of puppy pics on today’s post just for you!!!

  8. January 29, 2010 3:29 am

    i can absolutely relate to almost every word you’ve written. i am at that point with my workouts, too. especially my running. it just clicks. i do it because i love it now. i can’t imagine NOT having it in my life. but my diet… ugh. i’m an emotional eater, i eat for comfort, i eat in celebration, i eat when i’m down. i just love to eat. i still weigh about 16 pounds more now than i did before my first pregnancy… i was the thinnest i’d been in a long time at that point. i’d love to lose 10.
    thank you for always being so honest, courtney. i love reading your blog.

  9. Tammy permalink
    January 29, 2010 12:55 pm

    Court, it sounds like your mission to lose 30 is like my mission to quit smoking. My brain finally just “clicked” and I quit on Jan 1. Cold turkey. And it was EASY! Yes, there were some withdrawal effects, and there have been some temptations along the way, and there still are. But remembering the reasons and the goals have helped me to stick with it. You can do it!!!

    • January 29, 2010 2:01 pm

      I’m so proud of you Tam!!! I want you to live a long and healthy life and not smoking is going to help that for sure. Let’s do coffee soon….miss you!

  10. January 30, 2010 11:15 pm

    I love that you have a plan and a goal! Click, click click!

Trackbacks

  1. Click Plan DAY ONE « Adventures in Tri-ing
  2. I Feel Like Getting Lost « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

