Skip to content

Half of a Half

January 24, 2010

Um yeah…I ran half of a half this morning!

Let’s rewind.  I ended up doing a great and very challenging upper body workout on Friday morning at the gym.

Pushups on the smith machine bar 3 x 15

Barbell incline chest press (used smith machine) 3 x 12 85 lbs

Assisted pullups 3 x 12 108 lbs

Wide grip lat pulldown 3 x 12 60 lbs

Dumbbell pullover on bench 3 x 12 (set 1 and 2 at 15 lbs, set 3 at 20 lbs)

Seated row 3 x 12 100 lbs

Cable woodchops on dual cable cross 3 x 12 each side 30 lbs

Captain chair knee ups 3 x 12

TRAINING STATS

54 minutes (I was chatting a lot with a co-worker so this took longer than usual)

304 calories

114 average HR (this was because of the standing around and talking!)

158 max HR

Then I jumped on the good old stepmill and cranked out 30 minutes for some cardio.

TRAINING STATS

32 minutes

2.18 miles, 104 floors

372 calories

158 average HR

174 max HR

Saturday morning I had to open at the gym and was already not feeling so great.  By the time I got home all I wanted to do was lay around being incredibly lazy and blah.  So no workout, I didn’t go to the party we were invited to, and I didn’t even change out of my uniform until like 6 PM!!!

I woke up feeling refreshed and great this morning after sleeping until 7:30.  (this is LATE for me!)  I decided to make some delicious french toast for me and the hubs as it was raining and crappy outside.  I made some delish french toast with flax and we both chowed down.  I knew I was planning a long run, so I figured I needed some carby fuel and energy.

I did not have a plan when I got to the gym of how far I wanted to run.  But I decided to run at least 5 miles once I got going.  It was WARM in the gym today and somewhat steamy due to it being 40 degrees and rainy outside.  I was sweating within the first quarter mile.  But I was running slow and steady and felt like if I kept a slow pace that I could beat my previous long distance of 6 miles and go for 7.

I did it!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I did not do it fast, but I did it.  7 miles!  A new PDR and half of a half marathon!

The last mile and a half were HARD but I pushed through.

I did the 7 miles in a glacial 79 minutes.  Don’t care that I’m slow though…I ran 7 miles and that is a huge accomplishment in my book.

TRAINING STATS

7.5 miles (.25 mile walking warmup, ran 7 miles, walk .25 mile cooldown and stretching)

1 hour 45 minutes total with stretching

1,232 calories

158 average HR

178 max HR

I was so inspired that I came home and officially registered for the Cellcom Green Bay Half Marathon in May!! I registered for the race and booked our hotel room…we are all set!!!!!  There is going to be a mini-reunion of sorts of some hometown friends…lots of them are running the race!  And of course my BFF Molly is running it as well…it is becoming a tradition!

I iced my knee for a bit after a long hot shower, now I’m going to watch the AFC and NFC championship games on tv…I’m cheering for the Jets over the Colts (can’t resist an underdog!) and not sure about the Saints and Vikings game…such conflicted emotions there with Brett Favre.

Hope you are all having a great weekend!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Fattie Fatterton permalink
    January 24, 2010 11:41 pm

    Wow, congrats!! How exciting!!

  2. January 25, 2010 1:39 am

    Great job on your long run!!

  3. January 25, 2010 2:20 am

    Great job! I love running Quarters! 🙂 At this point I’m just trying to build up enough speed to catch up to my 63 year old mom. She just ran a 15K in 83 minutes! Yikes! Have a great week, Amy

  4. January 25, 2010 2:40 am

    half marathon? holy cow! Congrats and good luck!!!! 🙂

  5. christina permalink
    January 25, 2010 2:57 pm

    Nice! Good job making a goal… you’re doing awesome… keep it up!!!

  6. January 25, 2010 9:55 pm

    Congrats on the run! They should make “Half of a Half” t-shirts!

    I remember it wasn’t that long ago that I was running at a pace slower than yours. The goal wasn’t to be fast. The goal was to finish. Finish first and worry about the speed later.

    Great job!

  7. January 26, 2010 2:02 am

    I love it “half of a half”! You are so gonna rock this upcoming 1/2 marathon! I love reading your excitement when you’ve covered a new distance. It’s contagious.

Trackbacks

  1. My house is a hive! « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

