Skip to content

Sleep Makes Me Healthy

January 22, 2010

There are so many factors that go into a healthy lifestyle.  For me, sleep is one of the top! I have discovered I need around 8 hours of sleep to function.  I sometimes need 9-10 hours.  I have also discovered I am a morning person.  I function better going to sleep early, and getting up early.  That makes me a lark!  My husband is more of a night owl.  He likes to stay up later than me and would prefer to sleep later as well.

I also need the following on a regular basis to keep me happy and healthy:

–LOTS of water

–2 cups of coffee a day

–Exercise at least 5-6 times a week or cranky kicks in

–Fruit

–Snuggles with my pups

–Unplugging from computer every so often

–Family

–Friends

–Mental stimulation in the form of reading…books, magazines, blogs

–Activity and work that makes me feel useful and productive

–Music

I hit the gym early this morning after a rest day (and super LAME day) on Wednesday.  My body felt rested and I upped the weights on my leg workout a LOT.  I repeated this leg workout from this POST.

TRAINING STATS

45 minutes, 334 calories, 126 average heart rate, 165 max heart rate

I forgot to run a lap in between each set which brought down my calorie count and average heart rate a bit.

I hit the treadmill after this leg workout and pounded out 3 miles in about 31 minutes.  It was a good, satisfying sweat session!

TRAINING STATS

40 minutes total (running plus stretching)

3.18 miles total

509 calories, 166 average heart rate, 186 max heart rate

WHAT ARE THE TOP THINGS IN YOUR LIFE THAT YOU ABSOLUTELY NEED TO KEEP YOU HEALTHY AND ON THE RIGHT TRACK TO A HAPPY LIFE?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 2:04 pm

    I’m right there with you when it comes to water. I may be one of the most well-hydrated people I know…

    I also make sure to take time for friends/family, cooking real food, and “sanity naps”. 🙂

  2. January 22, 2010 2:07 pm

    I like your bird references. I’m definitely a lark. My husband used to be a night owl, but work and an overly perky wife have slowly converted him. The first couple years of our wedded bliss I couldn’t talk to him for the first 30 minutes he was awake – he needed some wake up time. 🙂

    For me to feel good:
    lots of sleep (8-9 hours)
    exercise (best with 6 days/week and it helps if most is done outside)
    talking to my mom and sister on the phone (living overseas can be hard)
    lots of fruits and veggies
    occasional dark chocolate
    tons of water
    organization
    sweet dog love (I wish she was more of a snuggler)

    I know I’d feel better if I had a job I was passionate about, but living overseas it’s hard to find employment. I’m working on finding more satisfying work though.

    Great post, it made me think,
    Amy

  3. January 22, 2010 5:28 pm

    Sleep. Exercise. Good, healthy, homecooked meals. Usually made by me with help from wife : )

  4. christina permalink
    January 22, 2010 6:14 pm

    I totally agree… SLEEP is key. I seriously can’t function on less than 7 hours minimum, but I like between 8 – 10! It’s honestly one of my favorite things to do… sleep! Lame but true!

  5. DiningAndDishing permalink
    January 22, 2010 6:53 pm

    I am with you! I NEEEED and love sleep! I feel a cold coming on now actually so it’s early to bed for me tonight!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. Cole permalink
    January 22, 2010 7:01 pm

    Without running, at least 7.5 hours of sleep, and stretching I am such a wreck. Sleep solves a lot.

  7. January 23, 2010 12:22 pm

    I’m totally with you on the early to rise, early to bed thing. Right now I’m trying to get back on that schedule, because I really am my best. I love love love early mornings!

Leave a Reply

