Skip to content

Courtney’s Quick Pear Cobbler and wobbly arms

January 20, 2010

Oh boy…my upper body workout this morning left me with wobbly arms! I did the same workout from THIS POST but upped the weight on the 21’s to using a 30 pound bar.  YOWZA! This upper body/abs intensive workout really kicked my butt. 

TRAINING STATS

42 minutes, 327 calories

128 average HR, 162 max HR

Funny how my stats are ALMOST exactly the same as last time I did this workout!

Then I got over my elliptical hatred and hopped on for a super sweaty workout.  I think I will use the elliptical more for some cross-training, but not much longer than 30 minutes.  I just think it is soooo boring.  I did 5 minute intervals for 30 minutes of 3 minutes forward, 2 minutes backwards and then walked 2 laps to cool down and STREEEEEETCHED.

TRAINING STATS

Total time with cooldown/stretching 40 minutes

379 calories

142 average HR, 167 max HR

Because Wednesday is my CRAZIEST most packed day this week, I ran errands, organized my life, blogged this post, got my work stuff ready, and made dinner all on Tuesday afternoon.

I prepped a turkey meatloaf and cut up some potatoes for roasting for tonight’s dinner.  Just tossed some cut up little yellow potatoes with some olive oil, salt and garlic powder.  Ready to roast while turkey meatloaf cooks:

100_3411

Here is my roll of turkey meat! We got a bag of 5 one pound rolls of ground turkey from CostCo for a really good price.  So it looks kind of weird…but it actually tastes even better than the Jennie-O kind we usually get in the plastic pans.

100_3408

I also cut up the last three humungo pears from CostCo since they were getting old and made a pear cobbler.  YUM!  Can you smell it through the screen? I tossed the three cut up pears with cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg and cooked for 10 minutes in a 400 degree oven while I prepped the cobbler dough.  I used the Heart Healthy Bisquick mix, skim milk, a little brown sugar and a little butter to make the topping. Pulled the hot pears out of the oven, topped with the dough and then cooked for another 18 minutes until golden and bubbly.

100_3412 100_3413

I am bringing a serving of this with some vanilla Chobani greek yogurt to add protein as my work breakfast tomorrow!! Can’t wait to try it out.

Hope all you bloggies are having a great Wednesday!

DO YOU PREFER SWEET OR SAVORY BREAKFASTS?

I usually prefer to have eggs or other “savory” type breakfasts.  The pear cobbler/vanilla greek yogurt combo is not my usual style.  What do you like for brekkie??

5 Comments leave one →
  1. christina permalink
    January 20, 2010 3:19 pm

    Hey Lady! You’ve gotten BUSY… I love it! I’m a serious egg person in the am. Egg whites on a tortilla… I usually have red pepper and onion… and sometimes black beans and then pepper and sometimes cumin. I don’t know what it is about cumin, but I can’t get enough.
    Recently, I’ve been trying to do oatmeal two times a week to mix it up and keep warm! I was doing fruit smoothies in the am for a bit, but they’re too cold in the winter, I’ll bring that back this summer.
    I’ve also been doing a kettlebell class once a week at lunch with some co-workers… it’s challenging and fun. But once a week just isn’t enough, I need to do some strength training on my own at the gym during the week. It’s just not as fun to do it alone…
    Keep up the bloggin… I’m reading!
    Talk to you soon Court!

  2. January 20, 2010 3:37 pm

    Well… I do oatmeal in the mornings… everyday… boring. But I’m a fan of breakfast at any time of the day- the more savory options such as omelettes and scrambles are often my dinner. I have a weird addiction to eggs recently…

    Your strength training sounds vicious!!!

  3. January 20, 2010 4:34 pm

    Nice! Those arm muscles will be like steel cables in no time!

  4. DiningAndDishing permalink
    January 20, 2010 7:22 pm

    The pear cobbler looks AMAZING! I am a sweet breakfast girl for sure 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  5. January 20, 2010 10:05 pm

    I prefer sweet everything and that cobbler looks incredible!

Leave a Reply

