Skip to content

Leftovers = Soup

January 19, 2010

First off…attack of the scavenging dogs!

100_3404

JR opened a granola bar while sitting on the recliner and was attacked by dogs hoping for crumbs!

Hee hee!

I decided to use my FIESTA leftovers to make some soup for dinner.

100_3394

I started with a bit of olive oil in a pan and added some minced garlic and what was left of the onion.  I also busted out my sweet 70’s crockpot.

100_3396  100_3395

I chopped up some pre-baked chicken I had in the fridge that needed to be used up and added it to the garlic and onion along with a healthy dose of crushed red pepper and cooked until hot.  Then I added the little bit of queso sauce I had left and salsa to the pan and mixed.

100_3398 100_3401

While that cooked I poured 2 cans of chicken broth and 1 can of water into the crockpot.  I also added approximately 1.5 cups of the leftover mexican rice (rice, corn, black beans).

100_3400 100_3402

I added the chicken/salsa/queso mixture and put the lid on.  We served it for dinner with the leftover shredded cheese.  Was hot and delish for a cold winter night!

100_3403

Rather than letting the leftovers hang out in the fridge for days, I made a whole new tasty meal and was able to use up a lot of the left over food.  And now I have tasty soup for lunch tomorrow as well.

This morning I got up fairly early and had 2 cups of coffee, a banana and then hit the gym for LEGS!

I cribbed a workout from the new issue of Oxygen magazine. 

Oxygen is my favorite magazine because it encourages women to revel in being strong and feminine at the same time!  Chicks with muscles are sexy!

Here was my workout, since it was the first time I was doing it I had to play around with the weights a little.  I always start too light!

Leg press (on the decline sled) 3 sets x 12 reps (1st set 100 lbs, 2nd set 120 lbs, 3rd set 140 lbs)

Barbell alternating lunge (the long bar, 45 lbs) 3 sets x 12 reps each leg

Stiff legged barbell deadlift (long bar, 45 lbs) 3 sets x 12 reps

Stability ball hamstring curl 3 sets x 12 reps (feet on ball, curl back towards glutes)

Seated calf raise machine 3 sets x 12 reps (sets 1 and 2 60 lbs, set 3 70 lbs)

Standing calf raise on box 3 sets x 12 reps

Back hyperextensions (on the stand) 3 sets x 12 reps

Decline crunches on bench 3 sets x 15 reps

I could go higher on the weights for sure on the leg press, deadlifts and calf raises next time.

TRAINING STATS

45 minutes, 368 calories

132 average HR

167 max HR

Then I jumped on the stepmill to complete the crushing of my lower body!

TRAINING STATS

30 minutes, 2.08 miles, 100 floors

404 calories (whooo hoo!)

161 average HR, 174 max HR

I am LOVING doing body part splits for my strength workout.  I feel SO focused and it is great for cross training too.  I am able to do my strength workout and add some cardio most days and then do my running on other days.  LOVE IT!

DO YOU ENJOY CARDIO OR STRENGTH TRAINING MORE?

Off to the gym for some upper body!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 4:42 pm

    he he… well my obvious answer to your question would be cardio. 🙂 But I do have to say I have learned to appreciate strength training so much more now and plan to not treat it like the red-headed step child in my workouts anymore… (and I’m totally allowed to use that phrasing bc I come from a family of red-heads and will probably have one of my own…)

  2. DiningAndDishing permalink
    January 19, 2010 4:58 pm

    that soup looks super yummy!! i am newly in love with tortilla soup 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  3. January 19, 2010 5:58 pm

    I like lifting weights more, but always put cardio first when I am short on time? I have a great soup recipe from Tosca’s new cookbook. It is “Mexican Meal in a Bowl”. 124 calories! Love it. Dr. Oz says to have a bowl of low cal. soup before your lunch and dinner so that you to help fill you up and ultimately eat less of the high cal. meal.

  4. January 19, 2010 10:58 pm

    Cardio, cardio, cardio. It’s easier for me and I’m intimidated by the gym with all the big military guys. But I am getting over that fear and getting my strength on. Prince and Georgie really wanted that granola bar!! 🙂

  5. January 20, 2010 12:27 am

    Love the dog photo! Too funny!

    I prefer cardio, but also have a love affair with body weight exercises like planks and push-ups.

  6. January 20, 2010 3:49 am

    I actually detest strength training…a lot, a lot. I’m more of a cardio girl. Also, I hate having to be enclosed in a gym huffing and puffing away. lol.

    Aaah…I wish I had a crockpot! It’s just so great for comfort food!

Trackbacks

  1. Sleep Makes Me Healthy « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

