Skip to content

Why don’t ya get another job mon?

January 15, 2010
tags:

I think it was a skit from In Living Color (but not sure).  The premise was a Jamaican guy and the ongoing joke was he had like 15 jobs…and his friend would say in a Jamaican accent…”why don’t you get another job mon!?”  This has been an ongoing joke for the last 15 years with me and my dad…I have had a few times in my life when I was working a combination of a bunch of different jobs and we would always joke “why don’t you get another job mon!”

Well, I officially have 3 jobs going right now and I’m figuring out how to balance it all since I went from having NO job to 3 in the span of a month! Needless to say, this week has been BUSY!!  I’ve worked 3 different jobs, went to yoga, ran, lifted, tried to keep up with housework and laundry and drove all the place.  I get a little breathing room today as I only have to work one job later today…boot camp!

On the agenda today:

–clean house

–prep for having in-laws over for birthday dinner Saturday

–laundry

–groceries for dinner party (doing a build your own taco fiesta!)

–bank

–workout

–teach boot camp

Yesterday ended up being a rest day because I drove to one job in Northbrook for 7:30 AM, got home around 1:30 and was able to eat lunch and take care of dogs before I drove out to Huntley for job number two from 2-6.  (for those not from the area, I basically drove from one end of the suburbs to another, and it is FAR) By the time I got done with that, I was beat and in no mood to workout. 

I think I got a pretty good workout working at the gym though..I usually work in the mornings and this 2-6 shift was a LOT busier! I was up and down the stairs getting clean towels, bringing laundry down, wiping down machines and filling up disinfectant bottles the whole time..no standing around! I also did an hour long floor orientation with a new member, giving her lots of ideas for a fitness routine.

I’m well rested and ready to tackle my to-do list today though! And I have fun plans to look forward to this weekend. Coffee with my friend Tammy tomorrow morning, build your own taco party with my hub’s family to celebrate my father in law’s birthday, and a Sunday that is BLISSFULLY free of any obligations except a nice, leisurely workout and some football on the tube!

HAVE YOU EVER WORKED MORE THAN ONE JOB AT A TIME? HOW DID YOU KEEP IT ALL BALANCED? ANY TIPS ON KEEPING IT ALL TOGETHER? I haven’t worked multiple jobs for a while…and it was before I had a house, hubs and dogs to care for as well.  Leave your best tip in the comments for juggling it all!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 3:44 pm

    Build your own taco bars! Those are the best.

    Can’t say I’ve ever needed to juggle two jobs at once. I’ve juggled a job, a child, and working out. I guess I just do with my entire day what they recommend you do for a child – create a schedule. 5:30 is dinner time in our house. 6:15 playtime in the basement with everybody. 7:00 bath. 7:30 story time. 8:00 bed. I find if I have a laid out schedule, I tend to follow it.

    It’s a creative or groundbreaking solution but it’s worked for me.

  2. DiningAndDishing permalink
    January 15, 2010 8:03 pm

    I’ve never had more than one job at once. I feel one full-time gig is enough for me! I don’t know how you manage all that :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  3. January 15, 2010 11:00 pm

    When I was getting my mater’s I was a teaching assistant and also worked as an insider at Papa John’s. At the time I was also an assistant coach for a high school soccer team and training for my first marathon. I think you know all the tricks though – organize and prepare. Also, be flexible. If I knew I had to work after practice, I’d get there early and run the field for a workout and run laps with the team. You’re going to do great! Amy

Leave a Reply

