Skip to content

Don’t Jinx It!

January 12, 2010

I realized something I need to work on as I was driving home from the gym yesterday. I was driving along, singing along to the radio at the top of my lungs.  I realized I felt REALLY HAPPY.  And I immediately told myself to STOP, I would jinx my happiness if I let myself feel too happy.

Isn’t that horrible? Isn’t that sad! What is the point of feeling happy if you can’t just FEEL it and enjoy it.  Is something going to happen down the road that is going to dampen my happy feeling…most likely.  But whether or not I let myself feel happy right now, in that moment, is not going to change the outcome down the road, so I should enjoy it while it is there.

So I’m adding to my New Year’s REVOLUTIONS.  I’m giving myself permission to just feel happy in that moment, embrace it, and not worry about jinxing it. 

Not sure if this is a deep down superstitious thing I have (I’m very superstitious!!) or if it comes with being a woman or if it is just me, but I have to start allowing myself to BE HAPPY or I never will be!

DO YOU EVER FEEL LIKE YOU WILL JINX YOUR OWN HAPPINESS IF YOU ENJOY IT TOO MUCH?

On a lighter note! On to my day yesterday.

I headed to the gym for a great 5 mile run on the treadmill. I haven’t run 5 miles in a while, and I definitely had to get back into my groove.  Only bad thing is I think I might have gotten a small blister on the side of my foot.  This was the first time wearing my new Nikes that I ran this far.  Hopefully it doesn’t become a problem. Oh, and my new heart rate monitor is so awesome! I have to look back to the last time I ran 5 miles and check out the stats because I know my watch was not accurate.  These stats actually match how I feel.

TRAINING STATS

Total workout time: 67 minutes  Total mileage: 5.50

Warmup: 5 mins .25 miles

Cooldown: 5 mins, .25 miles

5 miles: 55:09

856 calories

165 average HR

190 max HR

Then I came home and tried this new Progresso soup for lunch (there is going to be a giveaway coming soon so stay tuned!)

100_3317

Normally light canned soup TASTES light. This soup was AWESOME. It had big chunks of veggies and a rich taste.  The stats on it were pretty good, other than the sodium.  I expect canned soup to be higher in sodium though.  I ate the whole can.  So I was high on sodium for the day, but it was 160 calories and 3 grams of fat for the whole can and it filled me up!

100_3319

On the side I had half of this MASSIVE pear from this 6 lb bag I got at the CostCo this weekend and a toasted Arnold Sandwich Thin with a little bit of butter.  What a filling and tasty lunch on a cold day!

100_3321 100_3320

100_3322 100_3323

Then I got ready to go teach my boot camp!  Do I look official?!

100_3326

HAHAHAHAHHA!!!  It was really fun.  Only had 6 people last night, but there will be more next time.  We only had time to get all the paperwork filled in and then we did a 15 minute timed run/walk and will do it again in 6 weeks for comparison, then some stretching.  Can’t wait for next Monday so I can actually kick their butts! (and blow my whistle!!)  I’m also teaching a boot camp on Friday, so I am hoping to be able to do some butt kicking then.  There is a chance I might pick up a Wednesday boot camp as well if this all works out, so I’m about to get BUSY.

Today’s agenda: clean bathrooms and basement, grocery shop, workout, workout with my client

And I’m off!!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    January 12, 2010 1:52 pm

    I completely agree with you Courtney! I sabotage my happy feelings a lot. I have this odd superstition that if I think about a good outcome for too long it will never happen the way I want it to. I don’t know why I do it, but too funny that you brought it up!

    Also, that Progresso light soup is fantastic! Adam and I have been buying those quite a bit recently. We love the Chicken and Dumpling like you showed along with the Italian Meatball one.

  2. January 12, 2010 3:57 pm

    hmmm… I might have to try that soup! I have such a hard time finding soup that’s somewhat low in sodium that doesn’t taste gross… And I can say, from experience, I’ve had my share of bad Progresso- maybe this one will be a winner for me!

  3. January 12, 2010 4:38 pm

    I’ve tried that soup in the past as well. I used to go for the Campbell’s Chunky version (the really cream-based version) and find this soup to be a great alternative. I think it’s the dumplings that do it for me!

  4. DiningAndDishing permalink
    January 12, 2010 9:42 pm

    I know what you mean! Sometimes I think, man, life can’t be any more perfect right now….

    Then I worry that I might ruin it by thinking that!

    So silly really – we should just ENJOY the moment!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  5. January 12, 2010 11:08 pm

    While I do believe in jinxes (I always have to have my fingers crossed when the Gators are on offense), I somehow haven’t applied it to happiness. I just go with it.
    You could try a little vaseline in the blister spot or make sure your socks aren’t slighlty bunched. Good luck.
    The boot camps sound like they’re going to be fun and you never know – maybe you’ll get more clients out of it. Have fun having fun! Amy

  6. Pubsgal permalink
    January 13, 2010 12:36 am

    Hmmm…you know, I feel like I enjoy my happiness, but I sometimes have that “waiting for the other shoe to drop” feeling. I think it’s a defense mechanism for not feeling totally blindsided when bad stuff does happen. I deal with it by switching my focus to either making contingency plans for whatever I’m worrying about or thinking about stuff I’m grateful for and really feeling thankfulness. Works for me. (As for sports and jinxes, well, my Midwest transplant husband follows the Detroit Lions, so it’s like a permajinx. Thank goodness we’ve got hockey. 😉

  7. fitlizzio permalink
    January 13, 2010 2:53 am

    i am the SAME WAY. When things are going REALLY good..i start to worry..because i figure that something bad must be on the way. i guess the good thing is that when things are going really badly, i know that something really good is on the way.

    but you are so right….WHY can’t we just enjoy happiness?!

  8. January 13, 2010 5:12 am

    What you just said (about jinxing happiness) is EXACTLY what I have been feeling lately, but haven’t been able to articulate. Isn’t that funny.

    I wonder why we feel like that. It can’t be productive!

  9. Molly permalink
    January 13, 2010 5:03 pm

    lOVE YOU GIRL.

    And I bet that the boot camp people loved your packer shirt! 🙂

  10. Rita permalink
    January 13, 2010 10:37 pm

    when I see all the disaster in Haiti I really think about happiness…At any moment our lives can change drastically…that is why I have a hard time really controlling my diet and exercise regime….just when i weigh a healthy 115 pounds there will probably be a flood in Arizona…so i enjoy everyday with a cup of fattening creamer and a doughnut…

    • January 14, 2010 7:05 pm

      It’s true..we need to have balance and enjoyment in our lives!! Cuz you just never know when it will end.

Leave a Reply

