Skip to content

Heartbreaker

January 11, 2010

Oh boy….that Green Bay Packer/Arizona Cardinal game yesterday was a heartbreaker!!! For 3 hours I was on the edge of my seat as my beloved Packers fought back from a 17-0 deficit to tie it up 45-45 only to lose on a heartbreaking final play.  I still love ‘dose Packers though!!!! I thought it was an amazing game but WAY too nervewracking.

Let’s rewind back to Sunday morning. I had this agenda in mind when I got up: coffee, french toast, running, relaxing.  I accomplished all of these action items!

I made some french toast with 2 pieces of wheat bread.  I cracked one egg into a bowl, put in a splash of skim milk and a splash of vanilla and mixed.  I soaked the bread in the egg for a minute then put in a hot pan.  I sprinkled some flaxseed on the bread before cooking it and boy oh boy was this french toast the best! I don’t eat that too often…but I was craving maple.  I gobbled it all down with out a pic…but the flaxseed made it crunchy and delicious. 

I of course enjoyed my french toast with some coffee, and I also enjoyed the spectacle of my hubby cutting the fur on Prince’s paws.  It is too long, and the snow is getting tangled up in his webbed paws.  Georgie tried to help.  I was cracking up!  Prince is such a good boy, and loves any excuse to be touched!

100_3313 100_3312

100_3311 100_3310

100_3309 100_3308

100_3307 100_3306

Then it was off to the gym for a GREAT workout.  I did the same upper body routine that I did on this day.

After the upper body I hit the treadmill and decided to do a 5k.  I started off kind of slow which looking back was dumb because halfway through I decided to try and beat my best 5k time. However, I had put myself in too deep of a hole to climb out of with my slow-going in the beginning to beat my time of 31:40.  I did it in 32:37 though which is pretty good considering I had to catch up with myself.

Before I give you my workout stats, let me show you a little treat I got this weekend:

100_3314

I got a new heart rate monitor!!! I got the same one I was already using, I think it hasn’t been working correctly for the last 3 months and I noticed a BIG difference today.  I’m so happy to have accurate stats going forward, it makes such a big difference for training.

TRAINING STATS

warmup: 2 walking laps, 1 running lap

upper body strength workout (found here)

35 minutes, 278 calories, 130 average HR, 161 max HR

5k running workout

total time: 40 minutes (w/cooldown), 3.32 miles total

492 calories, 162 average HR, 186 max HR

I have been thinking for a while now that my heart rate has been off during my runs and these stats are closer to how I felt.  So glad to have this piece of equipment!

BOOOOOOOT CAMP!!!!!!!!

Tonight I’m teaching my very first boot camp!! Eeeeek!!!  Thanks for all your suggestions, you had some good ideas for me to add into my routine.  I will have a full report tomorrow on all the boot camp shenanigans.

Happy Monday to you all!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. DiningAndDishing permalink
    January 11, 2010 3:43 pm

    That’s a great tip to soak the bread for a min before cooking. I always just dip the bread in and out quick but I bet it picks up a lot more flavor with your method!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. January 11, 2010 5:07 pm

    I’m glad you finally got a new heart monitor! I know you were having quite the time with the last one…

  3. January 11, 2010 7:34 pm

    Good Luck tonight! Enjoy your new present.

  4. January 11, 2010 10:43 pm

    I love your husband’s serious expression as he clips the fur. Prince is such a good boy! Rana doesn’t mind nail clippings, but don’t try to clean her ears!

    The GB game was a heartbreaker. In a game without a lot of defense it was crazy that a defensive play decided the game.

    I can’t wait to hear about your boot camp. I know you’re going to do awesome! Have fun,Amy

Leave a Reply

