Skip to content

That’s More Like It!

January 9, 2010

Sorry for the disappearing act yesterday bloggie friends.  I had to open the gym in the morning, then shovel a foot of snow (including the icy blocks of nonsense courtesy of the snow plow man at the end of my driveway that almost killed me), then my mood went DOWNHILL.  Plus I was so tired but just could not nap for the life of me.  The dogs were being crazy…I had too much on my mind…you know the drill.

Anyways…a few good things did happen yesterday! I took a Power Cycling class at the gym when I got done with my shift and that was SO much better than the RPM cycling class I took Monday. I kept thinking to myself “that’s more like it!!” The instructor was great, the music was loud and rocking and there was a good energy.  I was dripping with sweat by the time we were done.  Although my heart rate monitor is for sure on it’s way out.  It was jumping from 100 to 229 to 150 to all over the place.  Not cool!! Not sure how accurate my stats are, but this is what I got:

TRAINING STATS

60 mins power cycling class

25 miles

550 calories

144 average

229 max (yeah right!)

Then I came home to the daunting task of shoveling.  UGH! I was NOT in the mood for it.  But I did it and got a pretty good calorie burn.

28 minutes, 183 calories, 125 average HR, 207 max HR

That is how I know my heart rate monitor is toast…I did NOT hit 207 while shoveling. I see a sporting goods store visit in my future!

Some more great news! A trainer at my gym runs some boot camps for hospital employees in the area and is looking for a teacher for the Monday night class.  She asked if I wanted to give it a shot.  HECK YES!!!  So I start this Monday kicking some butt. And the pay is decent…whoop whoop!

I basically have a room and some people to start…no equipment.  I have a warmup and some jogging laps and then the following moves for ideas.  I am going to pick some of them and do timed segments.

Jumping jacks, squats, pushups, wall sits, punching bag in the air, walking lunges, forearm planks, jump rope, mountain climbers, burpees, skipping with big arms, dips, jump squats, prisoner squats.

What ideas did I miss? Anyone have any other calistenthics/body weight type exercises I could do?

I ended up on the couch last night, fell asleep at 8 PM and finally got into my bed around 10 and slept until 7 AM today.  I think I was a little bit tired!

Anyways…I have a Saturday FILLED with errands, a workout, 2 possible parties, football playoffs, etc etc!!!  I better get a good breakfast in me and get going.   Hope you are all getting geared up for something fun this weekend.  Good luck to everyone running the Disney marathon!  And go PACKERS!!!!!

Packers

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 3:07 pm

    That’s so exciting about the boot camp class! Walking planks and crab walks could be a nice addition to your class. Let us know how the class goes.

    • January 9, 2010 3:09 pm

      Thanks for the great ideas! I’m adding to list right now. Need more upper body stuff!

  2. January 9, 2010 9:05 pm

    And the student becomes the teacher! Congrats!

    You might consider throwing in some plyometrics stuff. Side-to-sides, jumping, etc. Might be a good weight-free type exercise to mix in.

Leave a Reply

