Skip to content

Yoga Smells Like Feet

January 7, 2010

Hi!

100_3305

Just in case you wanted a close up!!!!!!!!  Heee heeeeee

Ok, I’m in kind of a funny mood…maybe because of all the freakin snow!!!!!!!!!  We’ve gotten about 8 inches or so here and are supposed to get another 6 more.  EEEEEKKKKKKKK

So I went to yoga yesterday morning after my shift at the gym.  Here are a couple of my observations:

#1) Yoga smells like feet.  Not sure if it was my feet, the lady next to me, the mat, or the room in general, but it smelled like feet.  Enough to distract me a little! Luckily I used some credit card points to order my own yoga mat, so I will hopefully get it soon and rule out one of the issues. 

#2) I need a pedicure.  Badly.

#3) It took me a bit to relax, but after I did, I loved it! I think I would have had a hard time a year ago quieting my mind enough to concentrate on my breathing, but I’m better at it now and I really enjoyed it.

Overall I liked the yoga class a lot and I know I need to go more because I could feel that I have a lot of room for improvement.  But I do a great downward dog!!!  It was soothing and warm in the studio with some music playing and our instructor was about 65 and clearly in love with yoga.  She was very supportive and good at demonstrating.  I will be making it a goal to keep going every Wednesday after working.  It was a nice way to transition from waking up at 3:45 back to the rest of my day.

Today I woke up to SNOW!!!!!!!  But I had an appointment with my trainer at 7:30 and I haven’t been there in forever so I got out of my warm bed and hit the snowy roads.  Unfortunately my trainer was sick and wasn’t there.  But because I’m hardcore, and I was already there, I figured I would work out anyways. 

I hit the treadmill for 20 minutes of incline running for a warmup.

20 mins, 1.60 miles, 184 calories, 146 average HR, 159 max HR

Then I did the leg routine I did the other day (click HERE for a recap) and ended it with a few jump rope intervals.  I crushed it!

41 mins, 351 calories, 146 average HR, 181 max HR

I decided I wanted to get in an hour total of cardio so I hit the treadmill for 20 minutes and then jumped on the treadmill for 20 more minutes of just straight running.  I haven’t been on the elliptical lately because I don’t feel like I get a good workout on it, but I bumped the level way up and alternated between forward and backwards and actually felt like it was a good workout…I will be using the elliptical more often I think.

Elliptical: 20 mins, 1.70 miles, 201 calories, 153 average HR, 172 max HR (pretty good!)

Treadmill: 25 mins (w/cooldown) 2 miles, 234 calories, 153 average HR, 166 max HR

When I finally got home from this (thank GOD for 4 wheel drive esp. when you live in the country!), I shoveled and since I had my heart rate monitor on I thought I would record it just for fun.

Shoveling: 20 mins, 152 calories, 131 average HR, 172 max HR

Not too bad for a little shoveling!!!!

Hope you are warm and cozy wherever you are!!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. DiningAndDishing permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:24 pm

    way to work out sans trainer! there’s a saying at my gym “getting there is half the battle” and it’s so true! once there it just makes sense to work-out 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. January 7, 2010 6:50 pm

    Ick to smelly feet!!

    I admire you for trying out a yoga class! I love doing yoga at home, but am super intimidated by going to an “actual” class, and then the fact that the yoga studio near us charges $17/class…yikes!! Can’t wait to see how the next class goes!

    • January 7, 2010 6:53 pm

      It was very non-judgemental in the class…but I have to admit I was still a little intimidated to try something new. It felt good to move past that feeling though and just do it!! I have only ever done videos as well, but I think that was enough to give me an idea of the poses and all that.

  3. January 7, 2010 8:11 pm

    he he he… I just hate feet in general, so there’s a chance I could have walked out of that class even more tense than when I went in!

  4. January 7, 2010 11:18 pm

    Your eyebrows look great!

  5. January 8, 2010 3:28 pm

    You really dedicate the time on your workouts. I’m impressed!

    We got a big pile of snow here in Wisconsin – about eight inches total. Par for the course around here this time of year.

    • January 9, 2010 3:12 pm

      I’m originally from the Green Bay area, so I know what you mean about par for the course snow in Wisconsin! I’m just down in the Chicago area now, so I shouldn’t complain, I think we get less here. Shoveling adds another layer to the workout for sure!

  6. January 8, 2010 8:42 pm

    Love the close up! I want SNOW in San Diego! Wow, shoevling is QUITE the workout!

  7. Mel permalink
    January 9, 2010 12:28 pm

    Hey girlie, great job with the yoga. I need to get my rear to a yoga class, but I am so intimidated! LOL about the feet. (: PS, long story, but I took my blog down for a bit. Might get a new one going at another time under a new name.

    • January 9, 2010 3:11 pm

      I think I was intimidated to go to a class as well, but everyone was very welcoming, and plus there are lots of newbies this time of year so you wouldn’t be the only one! I noticed your blog was missing :< Sometimes other things are more important though. Please let me know when you have a new one up…I will miss you as my swimming inspiration!!!!!! Hope you keep following along!

Trackbacks

  1. Prepare to be amazed… « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

