Skip to content

Spinning into Downward Dog

January 6, 2010

Goooooood morning!!!  Well, it is actually Tuesday night that I’m writing this, but you will be reading it Wednesday morning (I hope!)

Today I was a good little New Years REVOLUTIONS girl and hit up a cycling class.

The class is called RPM, here is the description:

RPM (Raw Power in Motion): The stationary cycling phenomenon from down under. RPM is group fun to great music.

Class was pretty fun.  I have to admit, I was SWEATING at the end.  However, I don’t think I worked as hard as I could have, and my calorie burn and heart rates both reflected that.  I think I didn’t push as hard as I could because I didn’t know what to expect and paced myself.  Next time I take the class I plan to push myself harder and “gear up” a lot more now that I know what’s what!

TRAINING STATS

RPM class

52 minutes (warm up and some end of class stretching included)

417 calories (WEAK!!!)

139 average HR (sooooo low)

180 max HR (that’s more like it!)

But my legs WERE tired from sprinting up hill…so I know I got a decent workout.

I headed upstairs to the fitness floor after for a little more calorie burning.

I hit the stepmill just for a bit.

TRAINING STATS

18 minutes, 1.2 miles, 57 floors

191 calories

157 average HR (that’s more like it)

170 max HR

Then I walked 3 laps on the track (9 laps is 1 mile) and did some stretching for about 18 more minutes of activity and 75 more calories.

As you are reading this, I’m hoping to be starting another one of my New Year’s REVOLUTIONS of attending a yoga class once a week.

I open the gym on Wednesday’s and get off at 9 AM.  Conveniently, there is a yoga class at 9:15 on Wednesdays, so I will be taking advantage.

Here is the class description:

Yoga Flow: Vinyasa-style yoga where we link breath and movement.  All levels welcome!

Sounds pretty good to me! I have done some yoga DVD’s in the past but never taken a class.  I hope I like it and I hope I do ok!!

Have you tried anything new lately? Anything that scared you a little?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. DiningAndDishing permalink
    January 6, 2010 4:51 pm

    I’ll be interested to hear how your yoga goes! I would love to get into yoga a little more. Perhaps another 2010 goal!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. January 6, 2010 10:56 pm

    Good luck with yoga! I took a few Bikram classes about a year ago and have been meaning to go back–the heat is just so intense that I AM nervous to get back!

  3. January 6, 2010 11:31 pm

    I did Yoga Flow on Tuesday for the first time and my shoulders, chest, and back are definitely sore (in a good way). I’m also going to be going to yoga once a week. If I can build up to it I’ll add a second time. I’m currently building my cardio back up after bronchitis knocked it down. Sure made me more thankful for a healthy body. 🙂

Leave a Reply

