Skip to content

Courtney’s Quick Calzones

January 5, 2010

I want to head out to spin class this morning as part of my New Year’s REVOLUTIONS so I wanna make this quick!

I had a GREAT workout yesterday.  I was doing upper body strength training, so I staked out my own little bench and gathered my supplies and got over my insecurities of working out with the “big boys” in the free weight area and got it DONE!

I started by walking 2 laps on the track to warm up.

Curl and press with 30 pound bar x 15 reps x 3 sets

Tricep kickbacks on bench 15 lb dumbbell x 15 reps x 3 sets

Barbell bent over row 30 lb bar x 15 reps x 3 sets

Dumbbell flye on bench 15 lbs dumbbells (30 lbs) x 15 reps x 3 sets

Dumbbell chest press on bench 20 lb dumbbells (40 lbs) x 15 reps x 3 sets

Dumbbell curl 15 lbs dumbbells (30 lbs) x 15 reps x 3 sets

ABS:

Knee ups in captains chair x 10 reps x 3 sets

Suitcase crunches x 15 reps x 3 sets

V-up toe touches x 30 reps x 3 sets

TRAINING STATS

40 minutes

257 calories

126 average HR

217 max HR (not sure where this happened..I think it must be a malfunction!!!)

Then I hit the cardio area.  My new calorie torcher is INCLINE RUNNING.  I feel like a bad-ass when I am incline running! I do a 10 minute interval that looks like this:

Courtney’s Incline Running Interval workout

1:00  walk at 3.5 MPH

2:00 up incline to 1.0

3:00 up MPH to 3.7

4:00 up incline to 2.0

5:00 up MPH to 5.0

6:00 up incline to 3.0

6:30 up incline to 3.5

7:00 up incline to 4.0

7:30 up incline to 4.5

8:00 up incline to 5.0

9:00/10:00 put incline to 0, run at 5.0 MPH

Repeat intervals 3 times

TRAINING STATS

32 minutes

2.3 miles

270 calories

136 average HR

166 max HR

Then I hit the STEPMILL to finish off my cardio session, did a nice steady pace and switched off walking side and forward.

TRAINING STATS

24 minutes

1.5 miles, 72 floors

265 calories

163 average

172 max

I hit the floor for 10 minutes of stretching and foam rolling when I got done with the stepmill. 

I have found a NEW sense of purpose in my workouts by writing down before hand EVERY thing I am going to do in the gym.

My biggest piece of advice to any newbie in the gym is to go in there with a PLAN. If you go in there with no concrete idea of what you are going to do, and you wander around a bit and you are not sure what kind of workout you are going to do, you will not be as successful.  By planning everything out you are more likely to stick to it and get it done.  Also, have a back up plan in case the machine you want is being used or something similar!

I made a TASTY and QUICK dinner last night.

As part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program, I received some Pace Picante Sauce and decided to use it in my calzones.

Courtney’s Quick Calzones

1 jar mild Pace Picante Sauce

1 lb lean ground beef

1/2 package reduced fat cream cheese

approx. 1 cup shredded cheese

1 package premade whole wheat pizza dough

I cooked up the ground beef and then added half a package of reduced fat cream cheese and stirred until melty, then I added the jar of Pace Picante Sauce and heated it through.

100_3276 100_3284

While this cooked, I took a package of premade whole wheat pizza dough from Trader Joe’s and divided it into three balls.  I floured my counter and rolled out the three balls.

100_3285

When the meat and sauce was cooked, I spooned some on half the dough and put a bit of shredded cheese on top and then folded over and crimped the edges.

 

100_3286  100_3288

100_3289  100_3291

I put all three calzones on a pizza stone and baked in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.

100_3293 100_3294

I ate one small one with less cheese for dinner and the hubs enjoyed the other two.

I had PLENTY of leftover meat/sauce.  Enough for a whole other batch of calzones but only had one bag of dough.

Enjoy!!! I’m off to spin.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 4:35 pm

    My trainer loves to crank up the incline on runs as well. Up, down, faster, slower. Interval running is our new favorite thing!

    Keep up the good work!

  2. DiningAndDishing permalink
    January 5, 2010 6:31 pm

    way to stick to your resolutions!! i am having some trouble with mine already – haha. calzones look delish!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  3. January 5, 2010 8:17 pm

    Show them boys how it’s done! 🙂

  4. January 5, 2010 9:29 pm

    Wow! Incredible workout! I did Yoga Flow yesterday which I loved and kicked my butt. I did spin today and while I know it’s a great workout I’m not sure how I feel about it. Maybe I’ll try another instructor. Calzones look great! Amy

Leave a Reply

