Skip to content

New Years Recap and Buffalo Chicken Dip Recipe

January 2, 2010

Welcome to 2010 everyone!!! So far so good!! Welcome to a REALLY LONG post!! Enjoy!

Let’s rewind the last few days.  Last night the hubs and I went to see Sherlock Holmes.  We both really enjoyed it! It isn’t going to make you have deep thoughts or discussions, but I don’t like that in a movie! It was loud and funny and I really enjoyed both Jude Law and Robert Downey Jr and I never really did before.

I also worked at the gym yesterday, there was a pretty steady stream of people in and out throughout the morning.  Great to see people making a new commitment to fitness in 2010!

New Year’s Eve was a busy day.  I went to the gym and got in a GREAT workout to start the day off.

I warmed up by doing some light incline running on the treadmill.  I set the speed for 5.0 and worked the incline up until it was at 4.0 and hung there for a bit.  That is a great way to get warmed up!

Then I hit the weights.

I did 3 sets of 15 reps each

Squat with row (dual cable cross machine) 30 lbs

Lat pull downs 1st set 60 lbs set- 2 & 3 set 70 lbs

Shoulder press machine 50 lbs

Overhead tricep extension 30 lbs

Hammer curls with dumbbell 1st set 20 lb – 2 and 3 set 15 lbs

Crunches on bosu- 10 forward 10 to each side

30 second planks

Then I jumped back on the treadmill for some more incline running I had so much fun with it during the warmup.  I basically did 5 minute intervals…3 minutes of incline running 2 minutes of walking.  I got my SWEAT ON!

Training Stats

Total time incl warmup/cooldown 90 minutes

700 calories

137 average HR

181 max HR

My upper body was FEELING it yesterday! I crushed it.

After the gym I made some Buffalo Chicken Dip for the New Years gathering.  I read over a few recipes for the dip and came up with my own combo.

Courtney’s Buffalo Chicken Dip Recipe

2 cans premium chunk chicken breast

1/2 cup Frank’s Hot sauce

1/2 cup ranch dressing

1 package reduced fat cream cheese

2 handfuls (approx 1 cup total) shredded cheese

100_3228  100_3232

Drain the canned chicken and put in a pan with the cream cheese.  Cook on medium until cream cheese is melty.  Then add the buffalo sauce and the ranch and stir to combine.

100_3229  100_3231

In the meantime, I cut a long french bread loaf into slices to serve with the dip, but could use crackers or chips, whatever suits you.

100_3230  100_3233

At the last minute, add a handful of shredded cheese to the chicken mixture and stir until melty.

Pour the dip into a square (9 x 9) pan and then cover with one more handful of cheese.  You can then take it with you to a party.  It can be heated up either in the microwave or the oven until bubbly and hot.  It doesn’t look the prettiest, but it is tasty!

100_3235

Then I made my latest obsession for lunch. 

Courtney’s Spicy Spinach Quesadilla

1 Flat Out wrap

1 big handful spinach

hummus

giardiniera

tiny bit of shredded cheese

greek yogurt for topping

I spread the hummus on the Flat Out wrap while I heat a pan on the stove.  Then I top with my OBSESSION, giardinere.  This kind is my latest favorite.  Put the spinach on top and then sprinkle just a bit of cheese.  The melty cheese holds it all together.  Fold it over and put in the hot pan with another heavier pan on top.  Flip after a few minutes until it is all crispy and melty.  Top with a bit of Greek yogurt.  Healthy and filling!!!!!  I shove as much spinach in as I can.

100_3239  100_3240

100_3242  100_3243

100_3244  100_3245

100_3247 100_3249

Supermodel photo shoot time before the party!!!!

100_3259 100_3262

100_3263  100_3264

Happy New Year! Welcome to 2010!!!!

100_3271

5 Comments leave one →
  1. molly permalink
    January 2, 2010 2:42 pm

    Watch out Heidi Klum!

  2. January 2, 2010 7:48 pm

    Your hair looks so pretty! Mine can’t hold onto a curl to save its life. And YUMMERS on the dip. I love that kind of stuff.

  3. January 2, 2010 10:44 pm

    Wow! That whole post made me hungry! Your hair looks great wavy. 🙂 Happy 2010!

  4. January 3, 2010 1:26 am

    OMG the buffalo chicken dip sounds aaaamazing, YUM!

    HAHA I love the photshoot…you’re too cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Heartbreaker « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

