Skip to content

Looks Like Santa Threw Up in Here!

December 22, 2009

100_3132

This was the aftermath of my wrapping spree yesterday.  I used up every scrap of wrapping paper and gift bags I had in the house!

The result looks a little nicer.

100_3131  100_3133

That just about wiped me out for the day.  Thanks for all the “get well soons” yesterday.  I ended up not feeling great most of the day. I even cancelled my personal training appointment for this morning because I wasn’t sure how I would be feeling at 6:45 AM.  Luckily I seem to be feeling better today.  Good thing because I feel like yesterday was a total waste of a day…all I got done was wrapping and laundry.

I did manage to make a tasty soup for dinner for my hubby.

Courtney’s Easy Salsa Soup

Ingredients:

dash of olive oil

1 tsp garlic

1 jar Pace Medium Salsa

1 can of corn

2 cans chicken broth

1 can of water

1 container frozen cheese tortellini

1 can black beans (I didn’t have this and was bummed!)

100_3134 100_3135

100_3136 100_3137

I love using my big red pot!

I put a dash of olive oil in the pot and turn the heat on medium and add the garlic and cook it up for a bit, I also added a dash of my fave seasoning, Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute

Action shot!
100_3138

Then I add in the salsa and let that cook up while I drain the can of corn.

100_3139

Starting to smell yummy!

Add 2 cans of broth and 1 can of water.  Turn up the heat and bring to a boil.

100_3140

Add the tortellinis and turn the heat down a bit, stir.  When the tortellini float the soup is ready.  I put the lid on and turned the heat to low and left it to stay warm until the hubs got home from his busy job of Santa (aka UPS man).

It looks very festive with the Christmassy tortellini!

100_3143 100_3142

What is your favorite soup? Do you like to make homemade soup in the winter?? Any recipes you like to share?  Leave it in the comments!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. DiningAndDishing permalink
    December 22, 2009 4:00 pm

    haha, that is quite the mess of wrapping paper! the finished product looks great though – perhaps you’d like to wrap mine too?? hehe.

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. December 22, 2009 6:36 pm

    That’s how my living room looked last night… I really need to find a less wasteful way of wrapping… maybe next year I’ll just gift-bag it all up!

    Oh and I’m getting that number to you soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

