Skip to content

DIG DEEP!!!!

December 15, 2009

My new mantra is DIG DEEP.  When I’m running or lifting or doing whatever and feel like I want to quit or stop, I start chanting in my head (and possibly out loud you never know) DIG DEEP DIG DEEP DIG DEEP.

I know I can do more, I just have to dig down deep and find that bit of strength I  know I have and do it!

I ended up having a great workout yesterday, I hit the Stepmill for 60 minutes until I sweated everything I had out! I got off the machine knowing I did all I could do…and I didn’t quit even though I wanted to!

Training Stats

60 mins

200 floors, 4.20 miles

650 calories

163 average HR(wowzers!)

180 max HR

And my HR monitor worked the WHOLE TIME!

My poor dog Prince gets very scratchy this time of year…he has dry skin!

So we put a t-shirt on him so he can’t scratch or bite himself raw.  It is too funny…he looks like a hairy little child.  And he looks soooo sad that we do this to him.

100_3090 100_3091

100_3092 100_3094

Georgie was just really tired and wanted to sleep under the coffee table! She was not impressed with my photo shoot attempts!

100_3093

And just to show you how glamorous things are around here…check out the mini photo shoot we had when Dad got home from work…check out my sweet red pants/orange shirt combo!! AWESOME!

100_3095 100_3097

100_3100

We sat around and enjoyed the Christmas tree and caught up on our days.  This will be a VERY busy week for UPS guys so not sure how much time I will have to hang out with him!

Do you have a mantra when you workout to keep up the pace? I also used one when I was doing my triathlon: YOU CAN DO IT YOU CAN DO IT, I said along with my pedaling on my bike!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 4:33 pm

    I love your mantra! Dig Deep…that’s what I need to start chanting when I feel like I can’t climb 1 more step on that evil stairmaster. Good for you for doing 60 minutes…that’s awesome!

  2. December 15, 2009 11:16 pm

    Oh Prince! I want to scratch that white face. He is so cute. My dog would eat a shirt off if we attempted to put it on – even if it was for her own good. Georgie cracks me up.
    I don’t really have a mantra, but I do a lot of positive talking – “you can do this”, “this is why you’ve trained so hard”, “you’re already past the half way, just keep going”. I do change the Nemo song to “just keep running”. I also like to do a 4 count breathing in and 4 count exhaling. It gets me in the right rhythm.

  3. molly permalink
    December 16, 2009 1:25 am

    I was totally channeling you today – that is EXACTLY what I was saying while I was on the dreadmill….

    twins.

Leave a Reply

