Skip to content

Losing My Mind?!

December 14, 2009

Good morning bloggies…welcome to another week!  I have a pretty crazy idea I can’t get out of my head, but more about that later.

I have laundry piled to the ceiling I need to get to…I don’t get it! I do laundry/housework all week long but somehow it is all piled up and calling my name again.  UGH!

This weekend was pretty good overall.  I worked a 6 hour shift at the gym on Saturday during the day.  Had an old man tell me that I had the “perfect figure..not too much, not too little.”  He also guessed I was 19 years old.  Creepy, but I kind of love him!!

We went to a fun little Christmas party Saturday night and we got to catch up with lots of friends, that was nice.  I brought my camera but of course didn’t take any pics! What’s wrong with me! I did take some pics of the cute $5 shirt I got for the season:

100_3087  100_3085

Here I am trying to get a pic of myself…LOL!!!

100_3082

I was very good at the party…I only had one beer and one little chocolate thingy. I made sure to eat some dinner before I went, and tried to avoid the goodies.  Overall I did great.  At the end of the night I chose the one thing I had been eyeing up all night and tried it right before we left.

Sunday woke up and hit the gym for a 5 mile run. Oh yes, 5 miles is becoming the norm for me.  What the heck? This is the start of where I think I’m losing my mind because I felt like I could have run more if I had too!

Training Stats

63 minutes (incl warmup and cooldown)

5.25 miles (incl warmup and cooldown)

600 cals (approx)

143 average heart rate (approx)

181 max heart rate (approx)

I say approximate because once again my heart rate monitor crapped out!!!!!!!!!! So frustrating.  I am getting new running shoes this week, and I think I will be checking into heart rate monitors because it is SOOO frustrating.

I came home just in time for the start of the Packer/Bear game (Packers win what what!!!!) and made myself just what I was craving for lunch: sweet potato chips and eggs.  Sliced a sweet potato into thin rounds and cooked it in the oven while I showered the covered it with 2 eggs.

YUM!!!

100_3088 100_3089

ARE YOU STILL WITH ME? HERE IS THE PART WHERE I LOSE MY MIND!!!!!!!

I think I’m going to train for a half marathon.  WHAT THE WHAT?! I am going to try and find a spring time half marathon and DO IT.  Yep, I’m officially crazy.  Lost it.  What?  My friend Molly did the Green Bay Half Marathon back in March, and my friend Tammy has run the Chicago full marathon twice…they are my inspiration!  So I think I’m going to do it.

If anyone knows a good half marathon in the Chicago area in the spring let me know.  If anyone out there wants to train/run it with me let me know as well!!!!!

Ok…off to do the laundry!!!!

I need a challenge to train for and look forward to…so why not!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. fitlizzio permalink
    December 14, 2009 2:16 pm

    that’s great!!!! i’m excited for you 🙂

  2. christina permalink
    December 14, 2009 2:42 pm

    Holy Crap! You HAVE lost your mind… but I say go for it… what the hell???? By the way, you are looking fantastic! Go Courtney Go… you can totally do it!

  3. December 14, 2009 2:44 pm

    ooohhh! Get it girl! I can’t wait until I can do some training runs with you!

    http://secondcityrandomness.wordpress.com/

  4. Molly permalink
    December 14, 2009 5:07 pm

    You know what I think…

    DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I’ll train with you.

    Thinking I am signing up for one here in March – and one in PA in May. Now that is effed up as well!

  5. DiningAndDishing permalink
    December 14, 2009 6:21 pm

    That’s awesome!! Good for you! Best of luck with training!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. December 14, 2009 7:42 pm

    Wahoo!!! I love halves! You’re going to do awesome.
    You’ve got to love creepy old men. And really how can you go wrong with creamsicle orange jerseys that sport a winking pirate with a sword clinched in his teeth? Maybe we should go back to old school since it was our only win. 😉 (Picture this winking emoticon with a sword in his mouth).

  7. December 15, 2009 1:05 pm

    So exciting! I don’t know of any in your area, but you are going to have so much fun!

  8. December 16, 2009 8:27 pm

    Yes!! You can totally train for a half marathon if you are comfortable at the 5 mile distance. Lots of half marathon training plans start with long-runs around 6 miles…so you’re right there! I’ve ran a few 1/2s and just completed my first full marathon in October and love the structure of a training plan and the absolute thrill of the pay-off when you cross that finish line 🙂

Leave a Reply

