Skip to content

Courtney’s Weeknight Pizza Bake

December 11, 2009

I haven’t posted a recipe in a while, so I thought I would share the tasty dinner I made for my husband last night.  I try to make casseroles or other make ahead items, so I can pop these in the oven when my husband gets home from work.  These days, he isn’t getting home until 9 PM, so I like to have something hot and hearty for him as he works hard delivering packages for UPS!

Courtney’s Weeknight Pizza Bake

Ingredients:

1.5 cups of Heart Smart Bisquick mix

2 eggs

approx 1/2 cup of water

seasonings: garlic powder, crushed red pepper, 21 Seasoning Salute

1/2 bag mini pepperonis

1 package (about .82 lbs) Italian sausage

1/2 package neufachtel cheese (or full fat cream cheese)

1 jar tomato sauce (your choice!)

1/2 bag shredded Italian style cheese

100_3061 100_3062 100_3063

First I started off mixing the Bisquick and the eggs in a bowl.  I added water from the half cup and mixed until the mixture was wet.  I didn’t use the whole half cup, use a bit at a time until the dough is well mixed.  I also added a dash of garlic powder and 21 Seasoning Salute to the mix.

100_3066

Spread this dough mixture in the bottom of a greased casserole dish.

100_3067

At the same time, cook the sausage (I added crushed red pepper) on the stove.

100_3064

Now start layering the ingredients on the casserole!

First use half the jar of sauce on top of the dough.

100_3068

Next put a layer of mini pepperoni’s

100_3069

Next the secret ingredient: neufchatel cheese (aka low fat cream cheese). I dotted half a block over this layer.

100_3070

Top with the sausage

100_3071

Finally use the second half of the sauce and half a package of shredded cheese.

100_3072

Bake for 40-45 minutes in a 375 degree oven or until bubbly and cooked.

I forgot to get a picture of my husband enjoying the ooey gooey dish!  I wasn’t quite sure how this recipe would turn out as I made it up as I went along.  But it turned out great, a hearty crust with lots of layers of goodness. 

Because my brother is a police officer and often works odd hours in the cold as well, I called him and he was on duty.  I asked if he was hungry and he answered “of course.”  I packed him up a satchel of food.  Casserole, a sliced orange, bottle of water and a few dark chocolate mint Hershey Kisses with a napkin and fork.

100_3073 100_3074

Once all my boys were fed I was finally able to relax and enjoy the rest of my Thursday night.

TGIF to all my bloggies out there!  Hope you have something fun planned for the weekend.

I have work tomorrow, a Christmas party tomorrow night, and the big Packer/Bears football game on Sunday.  Can’t wait to snuggle up and watch the game on Sunday…and GO PACKERS!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 9:00 pm

    That looks delicious. You’re such a good wife and sister. Please tell your brother thanks for serving his community. Have a good weekend, Amy

  2. December 12, 2009 12:20 am

    Wow, that looks tasty! So sweet of you to packa dinner for your brother, too.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

