Skip to content

Shoveling Part I

December 8, 2009

Hey bloggies! How is everyone? I feel really behind on reading and commenting on blogs…I promise I will get to that soon!

I have been busy working on my to-do list this morning!

Bank-check

Oil change-check

Laundry-check

Dishwasher-check

Shovel-check

Workout-up next

Lunch-can’t wait for leftover chili

I shoveled for the first time of the season just now.  It finally stopped snowing here this morning so I took advantage and got the first few inches off the driveway.  The news is saying we are getting anywhere from another 3 inches to 12 inches…who knows!

I figure I might as well get the first layer of snow off the driveway so later on I have less to shovel! Plus, shoveling is a great workout and it is a good warmup for the treadmill workout I’m about to hit once I get done blogging.

Yesterday we had a nice trip to my grandparent’s in Champaign.  Homemade beef veggie soup plus homemade bread was a lunch worth taking a drive for! Also got to see pics of my grandfather’s visit to the World War II Memorial in Washington DC as an honored veteran…pretty cool.

My bro brought some coffee in the car for the ride:

100_3025 

I tried on the snazzy new hat my mom bought my grandma for Christmas…I want one!

100_3049

My bro was pretty excited with the handmade cutting board and spatula from my grandpa:

100_3045 

Bro and Blondie plus a blurry pic of me:

100_3043  100_3044

Here is my brother and my grandfather demonstrating how to properly chop wood:

100_3050

EXERCISE

I have had a pretty solid strength training workout I have been doing lately.  I try to use just the Free Motion Dual Cable Machine to do my whole workout…you can do so many exercises on this machine!

free_motion

I did the following exercises on this machine:

Squat with a row 30 lbs  3 x 15

Chest press 25 lbs  3 x 15

Single arm bicep curl 12.5 lbs  3 x 12

Triceps pulldowns 35 lbs 3 x 15

Standing twists (for abs) 25 lbs  3 x 15

I also mixed in:

Lunges with dumbbells 15 lbs  3 x 15 (each leg)

Shoulder press machine 50 lbs  3 x 15

Decline crunch on the bench 3 x 20 (wowza do these work!)

I have been loving this routine and plan to use it a few more times before switching it up.

TRAINING STATS

When I did this on Sunday here were my stats:

45 minutes

349 calories

136 average HR

170 max HR

I’m off to hit the treadmill in the basement now as I have a lot to do this afternoon and have to work later.  I of course have to drive right when the weatherman was predicting the next round of snow…EWWW!!! Wish me luck!

Do you have snow where you are? Do you like to shovel?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. christina permalink
    December 8, 2009 7:13 pm

    hey Courtney! Only a little snow in Maine so far… but I love to shovel! I’m not afriad… the more the better… bring it on I say!

  2. December 8, 2009 9:11 pm

    No snow here in Richmond but we very rarely get snow around here. When we do get an inch or two, the entire city shuts down. : )

  3. December 8, 2009 10:49 pm

    No snow in Okinawa – I don’t think there’s ever been snow in Okinawa. I’ve never lived anywhere where there was a need to shovel. I grew up in Florida and have shortly lived in GA, TX, AR, and NM. It snowed while in AR and NM but nothing snow worthy.

    That sounds like a beast of a workout – glad you’re liking it. I love the cutting board and spatula. Have a great week, Amy

  4. molly permalink
    December 9, 2009 1:27 am

    Super cute hat.

    Snow can….get bent.

    Love you

  5. December 10, 2009 3:12 am

    I just came across your great blog! Congrats on the workout! It is so strange seeing people posting about snow…I am in Australia and it is just getting into Summer!

Leave a Reply

