Skip to content

Chilly Chili 5k Recap

December 5, 2009

I woke up this morning and checked the thermometer…25 degrees outside! What am I thinking running a 5k when it won’t even break 30 degrees.  COLD!

I was fired up though, and the sun was shining.

I layered up with my sweet pink headband ($3 at Dick’s Sporting Goods on clearance). There is a hole in the back to stick your ponytail out of. Cool!

100_2936  100_2938

I started layering up for the race.

One:

100_2934

Two:

100_2933

My plan was to hand my coat off to the hubby before I started running.

We got to the site and I met up with Amy from Second City Randomness and she handed off her race number to me.  Thanks again for giving me your number and for coming to watch the race! Hope your leg is better soon and we can meet up again for some training runs! I think I’m going to sign up for the Shamrock Shuffle if there are still open spots!!!!

100_2939  100_2940

We headed outside and got ready to take off.

Pre-race FREEZING smiles

100_2941

My goal for this race was to come in at 32 minutes or under.  My last 5k was in October and I finished it in 32:40.

The course was around a golf course on the cart path, not too bad for hills.  It was a gunshot start with no timing chips of any kind, so as soon as I crossed over the start line I hit start on the timer on my heart rate monitor.  It was probably about 10 seconds after the gun went off.

We all ran out onto the golf cart paths and it was a lot of people jammed together until it thinned out a little.  I ended up running around some people on the grass.  I felt like I was running pretty fast, I passed quite a few people at first.

It was REALLY cold but the first mile was wind at our backs.  I got to the first mile marker at 9:36!! WOW.  That is really fast for me.  I ran the first mile of my 5 miler on Thanksgiving in 10:40.  I knew even if I ran the second two miles a little slower I would be ok.

Mile 2 was bad.  It was into the wind for parts of it, and the super cold air in my lungs was starting to get to me.  I kept up a pretty good pace, even passing people, but I was struggling.  I walked for about 15 seconds on 2 different occasions.  My body felt fine, but my lungs were just cold.  I hit the 2 mile marker at 20:27.

At this point, I knew I just needed to run an 11 minute mile to hit my goal.  I knew I could do it!

I walked for about 30 seconds between mile 2 and 3 to get my lungs in order, then I took off. I was wishing I could run another 9:36 mile but knew it wasn’t possible at this point.  But I kept a steady pace. 

Once it said 28 minutes on my watch, I told myself to just pick up the pace, only about 3 minutes left!  At about 29:30 I ran up a hill, turned a corner and saw at the bottom of the hill the 3 mile sign.  Only .10 to go! 

The final .10 was up a hill (of course) and I crossed over the finish line, pushing as much as I could.

100_2942

My time on the clock was 31:45 but since it was a gunshot start, I’m going with the time on my watch of 31:40.  WHOOOOOOOOOOOOO   I beat my last 5k time by a full minute, and this is the fastest I’ve run a 5k since I can remember. 

I thought I was going to puke when I got done!

(not a cute pic, I have like 500 chins for some reason)

100_2943  100_2944

Overall, it was a fun race, I did great, and it was fun to meet another blogger!

Looks like this is it for races until the spring…I guess the Illinois weather will overtake the racing season!

Hope you are all having a great weekend…we have big plans to put up the Christmas tree this afternoon…pics to follow.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lawgirl permalink
    December 5, 2009 7:24 pm

    Congrats on a great time!! 🙂

  2. December 5, 2009 7:46 pm

    ahh i hear ya on the cold weather! it was 31 degrees this morning at boot camp. so coooollldd!! glad you had a good race and congrats on the PR!!!!!

  3. December 5, 2009 9:45 pm

    Woot, woot!! Nice race!

  4. December 6, 2009 1:54 am

    Awesome! Your seeing the benefits of all your hard work. Great job and be proud.

  5. December 6, 2009 1:18 pm

    Yay! Congratulations on the PR! All of those five mile runs on the treadmill have paid off! Great job! I am SO proud of you!

Trackbacks

  1. Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire….. « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

