Skip to content

5k Chilly Chili Race

December 4, 2009

I have some pretty cool readers!! When I put out the call the other day for suggestions for area races, I had a few people mention this Chilly Chili 5k on Saturday in Schaumburg.  I was looking for something further down the road, but this one did sound fun.  However, it had a $35 entrance fee for latecomers and I just can’t justify that price right now.

Then I got an email from Amy at Second City Randomness (check out her blog, super fun).  She told me she is having a possible stress fracture and had signed up for the race and now would not be able to participate.  She offered me her race number for free!!  I’m super excited to do a 5k tomorrow now…and plus you get chili and beer afterwards.  So you can bet my hubby is excited to come along! 

Thank you so much Amy for the offer and I can’t wait to meet a local blogger!!

My last 5k was the Barrington Trick or Treat Trot (aka the Pink Skull Strikes click HERE).  My time was 32:40 and my goal is to beat that time.  I would love to beat it by a lot, but not putting too much pressure on myself.  I’ve run as many 5 mile races as I have run 5k’s this season…that is cool!

I have been eating super clean the last few days, really getting serious about getting some of this weight off and properly fueling my athletic endeavors.  Chicken, green beans, hummus and an orange has been my last few meals. Oh, and a MASSIVE mug of water is never far away.

100_2921 100_2922

 

Speaking of massive mugs, I treated myself at Hobby Lobby to a brand new mug (it was only $5!) and it is HUGE. 

100_2924

Then I got myself a brand new journal to track my workouts.  And it is was on SUPER clearance.

100_2925  100_2927

Last night we got about an inch or so of fluffy snow.  The dogs are getting reacquainted with the cold stuff.

100_2929  100_2932

Georgie is looking up at me like “I don’t have to get my prissy little paws wet out there do I MOM?!?”

Happy Friday everyone!!! I will be back tomorrow afternoon with a race recap!

ANYONE DOING ANYTHING FUN THIS WEEKEND??? SHARE!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 2:13 pm

    Good luck on your 5K! I’m running one tomorrow too (this will be my 2nd). Its a Jingle Bell Run, and we actually have to run with jingle bells on our shoes. Fun 🙂

  2. December 4, 2009 2:20 pm

    You can do it!!!! 🙂 See you tomorrow, lady!

  3. December 4, 2009 7:51 pm

    It sounds like a fun race. Have fun!

  4. December 4, 2009 8:02 pm

    Sounds like a great race- good for you for staying so active in the chilly weather!

  5. December 4, 2009 9:20 pm

    Fun! Another race… good luck!

Leave a Reply

