Skip to content

5 is the new 3

December 3, 2009
tags:

Do you have a number in your mind you have to hit in order for it to be a “real” workout?  My number has always been 3 miles.  When I am on the treadmill, I have to walk, run or do a combo of the two up to the 3 mile marker for it to be “real” workout.  Well, apparently 5 miles is the new 3 miles!  Lately when I jump on the treadmill, I pound out 5 miles, and don’t really even think twice about it.

It may partially be the great treadmills at the gym.  My favorite model is downright cushy, I barely feel my feet hitting the belt…it is like no impact running!

I had a great run yesterday at the gym on this treadmill.

First I peeled an orange and packed it for a snack.  I ate half on the way to the gym, half when I was done.

100_2918

I was feeling kind of sassy yesterday, so I wore my hot pink headband and did a photo shoot by myself in my house.

100_2908 100_2901

Hit the gym…here are the stats:

STATS

60 minutes

5.27 miles

614 calories

152 average HR

174 max HR

I never really felt out of breath, my heart rate stayed stable most of the time, and it stayed lower than I would have thought.  Guess I’m getting FIT.  I ran a “pyramid” of speeds.  Basically I started at 5.0 mph and then every 2 minutes put it up a notch until I reached 6.0 mph and then I stuck there for about 5 minutes.  I repeated this a few times, but if I felt comfortable at a speed I stuck with it for longer.  It is a great way to keep the workout from being super boring.

Got some errands to do today and then I have to work.  Hope your first week of December is going great!

100_2907

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 2:00 pm

    That’s fantastic! I love that feeling- last year I was only letting myself stop for a breather after 12-15 minutes of solid running… then recently I was going 28-30 before I’d allow it. The runner’s high is awesome! 🙂

  2. December 3, 2009 2:18 pm

    From your trainer: If you’re not thinking twice about doing 5 sounds like you could do more ; )

  3. December 3, 2009 3:20 pm

    5 miles?? Go YOU! That’s awesome and love the pinks headband! 🙂

  4. DiningAndDishing permalink
    December 3, 2009 4:49 pm

    I am loving all the pink!! Sure to get you energized :O)

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  5. December 3, 2009 6:42 pm

    Great job on the run! You are awesome!

  6. December 4, 2009 5:51 pm

    Great work!

Leave a Reply

