Skip to content

Writer’s Block!

December 1, 2009

So those that know me well will be very surprised to hear this, but I don’t have a whole lot to say today!

It is December 1, and I am ready for a fresh start, ready to bust out of the mini rut that I’m in.  I’ve got a few things cooking that I hope will help me get moving forward, instead of just side to side.

In the meantime, I’m adjusting to the winterish weather around here.  The sun was out yesterday for a bit which tricked me a little.  I had about 45 minutes before I had to shower and get ready for work so I decided to get outside and run.  I did NOT wear enough layers, did not wear gloves and I was COLD.  Learned my lesson on that, and I actually tried to run faster to warm up! Maybe I found the trick for speed work for myself.

I have been having some issues with my heart rate monitor as well that are frustrating.  I have had it about a year, maybe I need to replace the battery in the watch part?  The monitor keeps saying my heart rate is 86, then it drops to 0.  While I’m sprinting in the cold down the road.  So I know it isn’t accurate.  That throws off my average HR and my calorie count, so I am super frustrated with that.  Anyone else that uses a heart rate monitor ever have this problem? Should I just try replacing the battery?

I was glad I got in a 3.5 mile run at least!

STATS

42 minutes (including warmup/cool down)

approx. 3.5 miles

409 calories

156 average HR

176 max HR

QUESTION OF THE DAY

How do you break out of a rut you are in? A life rut, work rut, exercise rut, diet rut, etc.  Leave some tips for me and my readers in the comments!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rena permalink
    December 1, 2009 2:55 pm

    Sorry to hear your down right now. You have to make food tasty, enjoy what you eat instead of gagging it down. Keep track of your food intake- if your not satisified make changes- eat more vegetables- less processed food and plan for social occassions..
    LIke a job, you have to work for a lifestyle change- a better attitude, more energy may make a job less of a rut effect too..
    Keep positive you have a job- many don’t, many don’t know where money for shelter, food or presents for their kids is coming from.. Appreciate what you have, others don’t have these things. Get them working for you, when times are better you will find a better job, the stuff at home needing fixing will get done- and you will have lost some pounds as well.
    We have the power in our own hands to win or loss- stubborn people don’t give up! Fight for what you want..
    kind regards Rena1965 ( a ex 306lbs lady whom had zero to her life with her husband died).. I feel lucky these days- even with the job from hell..

  2. DiningAndDishing permalink
    December 1, 2009 4:52 pm

    Sorry to hear you’re in a mini rut!! Best way for me to break out of one of those is with a good work-out and some nice healthy meals. Feeling healthy is a huge part of feeling my best I think!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  3. Molly permalink
    December 1, 2009 5:02 pm

    I moved out of state….maybe you should too. LOL!! 🙂

  4. December 1, 2009 8:29 pm

    Hey! So sorry to hear you are down. Did you get the new job you were talking about a month or so ago? How is that going?
    And sorry to hear about your HRM. My is acting crazy too! I have a Polar F7 and it is about 1 yr old too. I replaced the battery in the transmitter, but it is still acting up. Most of the time reads 0 or doesn’t show it is detecting a HR. I just ordered a new WearLink chest band, so I am hoping that takes care of the problem. If not…. maybe Santa will bring me a new one! : )

    Hope you are having a better day today!

  5. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    December 2, 2009 3:29 am

    I think mini-ruts are totally normal, as is writer’s block, lol!

    Maybe you could try a new class at your gym, or set some specific goals for yourself. I know you do these things already, but that’s usually what helps me to bust the rut. Hang in there!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

