Skip to content

Almost Turkey Trot Time!!!

November 25, 2009

I am so excited about the 5 mile Turkey Trot tomorrow.  WHO AM I!?!?  The thought of running 5 miles used to strike fear in my heart.  And now I am soooo excited to take on the challenge.  The forecast from Weather Bug on my itouch for tomorrow morning:

High of 39 degrees, cloudy, light rain showers and light snow showers likely in the morning

Oh baby!

I have my outfit ready to go including the sweet new headband I bought about a month ago for $2.99! I can’t wait for my run tomorrow, and I will be sure to post a full race report (the pink skull will be making an appearance for sure!!)

Last night I had to work from 6 PM – 11 PM at the gym which is NOT prime time for me.  I would really rather open the gym than stay until close as I am more of a morning person.  I made it through though, and did a little experiment.  I wore my heart rate monitor the whole time and here are my stats:

5 hours 7 minutes

795 calories burned

87 average heart rate

139 max heart rate

INTERESTING!!!!!!!!

I brought along some dinner to snack on while I was working.  A sandwich thin/natural chunky PB/honey crisp apple sandwich with some leftover apple wedges on the side.  This is becoming a great go-to sandwich for me!  Portable, filling and nutritious!

100_2865

Here are the dogs waiting patiently for a little bit of apple.

100_2866

Here is Georgie earlier, taking a nap, but not letting her bone get out of her sight.  HA!

100_2864

I bought a small dog bed for $7 at Wal-Mart the other day to see if Georgie would use it.  She showed ZERO interest in it, but Prince LOVED it and seemed to think it was just a big stuffed animal for him to snuggle with.  SO FREAKING CUTE!

100_2810   100_2811

And a little self portrait cuz I’m goofy like that. 

ZOOLANDER ALERT:

100_2809

 

ALRIGHT EVERYONE IN BLOGGY LAND…HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT THANKSGIVING PLANNED….AND I HOPE YOU ARE ABLE TO ENJOY GOOD FOOD, GOOD DRINK, FRIENDS AND FAMILY!  AND I HOPE YOU ALL TRY TO GET SOME ACTIVITY IN…YOU WILL FEEL SO MUCH BETTER IF YOU DO!

I’LL BE BACK WITH A RECAP OF MY TURKEY TROT SOON!!!!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 2:41 pm

    Enjoy the Turkey trot—the invigoration of moving, and the fun of being a part of an active healthy group is an awesome way to initiate Thanksgiving. Take thanksgiving in the ability to move:)

  2. November 25, 2009 3:42 pm

    Good luck on the Turkey Trot and have fun! What a great way to start off Thanksgiving!

  3. DiningAndDishing permalink
    November 25, 2009 4:03 pm

    best of luck to you in your race!! i admire your motivation on thanksgiving day!! :O)

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  4. fitlizzio permalink
    November 25, 2009 4:35 pm

    good luck on your turkey trot!!! can’t wait for the recap 🙂 happy thanksgiving! by the way, i’m not sure if you read the replys on my comments, but you had me cracking up with your ahhhnold DOMS haha!

  5. November 25, 2009 5:36 pm

    Okay, now that you’re doing it, I feel like I am a huge wimp for not knowing if I’m going to do it yet. I can SO relate to being shocked at yourself for WANTING to do a 5 mile race. Seems like yesterday that I was thrilled to break the 3 mile barrier! Good luck and HAVE FUN!!!

  6. November 25, 2009 6:23 pm

    Yep, I know what you mean…a mere 2 years ago, I would never have *dreamed* I’d be excited about running races and doing triathlons. You’re going to rock that race tomorrow!!!

    Hope you and your family enjoy a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  7. christina permalink
    November 25, 2009 6:39 pm

    I’m running a 4 Milier tomorrow… but I’m not as excited about it as you are. It’s my third year… first race I ever ran. It’s a fun time… but I’m not in top running shape. Either way it will off set some of the turkey dinner! Good luck with your 5 Miles and Happy Thanksgiving to you and JR! xoxo

  8. November 25, 2009 9:11 pm

    Can’t wait to see the return of the skull and crossbones! Have a great race!

    Prince is too cute, cuddling with the dog bed!

  9. November 25, 2009 10:13 pm

    That’s so great how running is now something you are looking forward to. Hope the turkey trot is awesome and you have a very happy Thanksgiving!

  10. November 25, 2009 11:49 pm

    Good luck on the race!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

