Skip to content

Do you have focus?

November 19, 2009

A few weeks ago I did a post about end of year healthy resolutions. (click HERE if you missed it).

I decided to revisit my goals today as the holidays and all the temptations and roadblocks that come with are rapidly approaching.

Here is a resolution recap:

–Strength training 3 times per week–YES

–Cardio 5-6 times per week (2-3 of these sessions should be running)–YES

–No more falling asleep on the recliner at night! When I’m tired, I need to get in bed—DOING BETTER

–Read more (I love to read but have not been reading for pleasure much lately)–YES

–Cook healthy lunches and dinners most days of the week—DOING SO-SO

–Using SparkPeople to track my calories–FAIL

–Continue pursuing a career in health and fitness–YES

–Daily affirmations of gratitude for what I DO have, and not wasting time thinking about what I DON’T have–FAIL

–Daily positive thinking—FAIL

Taking stock:

Well, looks like I’m doing great with the physical aspects of my challenge and the reading part.  The mental part is a total fail and the food is just a so-so.

I have lost focus on my goals and need to get it back.  HOW DO YOU KEEP FOCUS ON YOUR GOALS? NOT JUST THE HEALTH AND FITNESS GOALS, BUT ALL LIFE GOALS?

I decided to take charge as the scale is not BUDGING.  Yesterday I made up a bunch of turkey, green beans and brown rice…my very own “lean cuisines.”

Tons o’ground turkey

100_2791

Big ol bag o green beans

100_2792

Rice cooker (Thanks Molly!!!!!!)

100_2793

Made up all the components and then set out some containers.  I measured out about 4 ounces of turkey, 1/2 cup brown rice and green beans into each.

100_2794

100_2795

100_2797

Ready to go, all lined up.  Now I have no excuses for a healthy lunch or dinner, I just need to grab a container and heat it up.

100_2798

HOW ARE YOU KEEPING YOUR FOCUS INTACT AS THE HOLIDAYS APPROACH IF YOU HAVE SOME HEALTH AND FITNESS GOALS? HOW DO YOU KEEP FOCUSED ON ALL YOUR GOALS?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. DiningAndDishing permalink
    November 19, 2009 2:24 pm

    I think the best thing for me to do as the holidays approach is to give myself permission to enjoy the holidays, but not over do it. It’s nice to have a treat here and there, but eating to many makes me feel like crap which is no way to enjoy the holidays! Eating a little of something is better than depriving myself, which I think ultimately leads to overeating down the road.

    Best of luck with your goals!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. rubythewes permalink
    November 19, 2009 2:47 pm

    The most important thing for me is to focus on the holidays being just one day. I can’t eat Christmas cookies on December 3rd just because they’re Christmas cookies. Christmas is one day – Thanksgiving is one day. I get caught in the trap of eating poorly for a whole month! I’d rather spend a few days getting over one bad day (and I allow myself the one bad day) rather than spending the next 3 or 4 months getting over one bad month. 🙂

  3. November 19, 2009 7:53 pm

    Well look at how organized you are! Would you like to come over and get all of my lunches and dinners packed up as well? : )

  4. molly permalink
    November 20, 2009 1:42 am

    Ok – if I could get 25% of my goals realized I would be so proud – and look how many you have!! you should be proud! you are on track in my books!

    Love you!

  5. November 20, 2009 1:12 pm

    Staying focused from minute to minute is a challenge for me. I actual wrote a little about that subject myself yesterday. The holidays aren’t particularly challenging for me. I tend to get more off track in January and Feb. I’ve signed up for a 1/2 marathon at the end of January to keep on track.

Leave a Reply

