Skip to content

Courtney’s Drunken Chicken

November 17, 2009

As the days get colder, and my schedule gets busier, I rely on the crockpot for some hot and delicious meals more and more often.

One of my favorite crockpot recipes is so simple, but yet so tasty! It is based on my trying to recreate a dish my hubs and I enjoy at a cajun restaurant near our last residence.  It isn’t quite the same, but it is a delicious substitution.

I do have a fancy crockpot with the removeable crock, but I like to use my 1970’s looking one.  I feel like the ones that are taller and less wide actually work better when making something like this.

100_2769

 

Courtney’s Drunken Crockpot Chicken

Ingredients

1.25 pounds chicken breasts (that just was the amount in the package I had on hand)

approx. 1/4 cup olive oil

garlic

crushed red pepper (I use LOTS)

salt, pepper

seasoning..I use the 21 Seasoning Salute from Trader Joe’s and a bit of Creole Salt

1/2 a bottle of any beer

1 can of diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil or crushed tomatoes with chilies (whatever you prefer)

100_2765  100_2766 100_2767

100_2768

I place the chicken breasts in the crockpot and then put the garlic, crushed red pepper, salt, pepper and seasoning on the breasts and rub it in a little bit to help it absorb.  Then I pour approximately 1/4 cup olive oil over the top, cover with the can of tomatoes and then half the bottle of beer.

100_2771

I like to mix this in the crockpot the night before and let it marinate all night long in the refrigerator and then just pull the crockpot out in the morning and plug it in.

Cook on low 8-10 hours until the chicken shreds easily.  Shred up chicken and serve over rice or with hot and crusty garlic bread. This recipe could easily be doubled or tripled and served at a football party as sandwich filling or for a bigger party.

Prince says “Mom, can you please drop a bite down to me?”

100_2772

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 2:05 pm

    One suggestion : ) Lite BEER!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      November 17, 2009 2:08 pm

      Good idea!! The only beer we have in the house is my husband’s though and he doesn’t drink light beer….he is a bit of a beer snob!! LOL

  2. November 17, 2009 4:05 pm

    Yummy, it looks delicious! I really need to bust out my crockpot and put it to use this winter!

  3. November 17, 2009 6:30 pm

    Man, your recipe makes me wish that I hadn’t given my crock pot away! Darn it!

  4. rubythewes permalink
    November 17, 2009 8:46 pm

    I love crock pot recipes! This sounds pretty good – although, anything with beer usually is. 🙂

  5. November 17, 2009 9:00 pm

    Its meals like these that make me think I should invest in a crock pot. And Prince is adorable. I can’t believe he is laying down when I cook Maddie is all over the place in the kitchen.

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      November 17, 2009 9:08 pm

      Oh, usually my two knuckleheads are right next to my feet while I’m cooking…but 2 days at the dog park this weekend WORE them out!

      A crockpot is a must for any kitchen…it is my fave kitchen gadget!

Leave a Reply

