Skip to content

I’m in love with a foam roller

November 16, 2009

This weekend I discovered the joy and the pain of the foam roller!

Let’s rewind a bit!

I left you on Saturday with my plans for training from 12-2, a workout and then home.  Plans changed! I had a co-worker ask if I could work her 4-close shift and I agreed.  So I pulled out a bag and packed a few changes of clothes and packed up some snacks and was on my way. 

Customer service training 12-2

It was fun! I met a bunch of my co-workers as all employees must take it once a year, from all different departments.  We did some team building exercises and had some snacks.

Workout 2:15-3

Did a full body strength workout using mainly the cable machines so I could combine exercises such as the squat and row.  I was able to get a lot done in a short amount of time

Shower, ate, chilled for a few

Worked 4-10 PM

This was probably a good first shift for me to work by myself because it was DEAD for the most part.  Not too many people get their workouts in on Saturday evening! I got familiar with all the machines, wiped down a lot of equipment, met some members and gave out some advice, read a magazine and DISCOVERED FOAM ROLLING

I have heard other athletes rave and cry about how the foam roller hurts so good on various parts of their body.  Lately I’ve been noticing my hip/IT band has been a little sore, probably from all the running I’ve been doing.  I waited until there was hardly anyone in the gym and busted out the roller after I looked up a few exercises on my itouch.

foam%20roller

The foam rollers at our gym are blue and not as squishy as some other foam rollers I have seen in the past.  I laid on my side and placed the roller under my hip and rolled up and down the side of my thigh.  OUCH!!!!  Oh my, I was on the verge of tears as I rolled and rubbed the crunchy and tight muscles of IT band and hip flexors.  Then I rolled on my back and rolled it under my glutes and hammies.  OH SWEET MOTHER OF ALL THAT IS HOLY.  Then I rolled on my front and rolled out the quads and shins.  I did this for about 15 minutes and it hurt so freakin bad, but when I stood up I did feel better.

My legs were tired from standing most of the day, have to readjust to a job where I’m on my feet, but this helped.

I had some lingering soreness from the rolling on Sunday.

I hit the gym on Sunday for a hard cardio workout.

TRAINING STATS

Stepmill 60 minutes

4.25 miles, 205 floors

Treadmill 30 minutes

approx 2 miles (slow walk)

stretching

FOAM ROLLING

1 hour 45 minutes

791 calories

135 average HR

170 max HR

I think the foam rolling was even better this time as I was warmed up and stretched out.  My IT band is a little sore today, but I think it is more of a bruising from the hard roller than anything. I need to do it more often and keep my muscles loose.

Today I have a workout with my trainer and plan to use their rollers and see if it makes a difference as the studio has the softer rollers.

Athletes out there…runners, swimmers, bikers, weekend warriors…do you use foam rollers? What are you favorite uses? Does it hurt so bad you almost cry sometimes? Share your stories!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 2:19 pm

    My Pilates is in session II—now after 10 weeks we have progressed to the Pilates ring…..it looks like an intertube with handles juxtaposed—and it takes the matwork to the next level of pain and sufferin’! It makes the hula hoop look like a baby toy! GO Matwork!!

  2. traynharder23 permalink
    November 16, 2009 3:45 pm

    oh foam rollers. i have a high denisty 36″ one for my own use. it hurts like a mother. oh man. the it band rolling is SUCH A PAIN. once i rolled for an hour and all the toxins were released making me soooo nauseous.

  3. November 16, 2009 4:16 pm

    Yes it hurts so bad my eyes well up with tears! ha! but serious…it can hurt so bad sometimes! I think the foam roller is a miracle roller! It helps me so much!! love it!

  4. DiningAndDishing permalink
    November 16, 2009 5:33 pm

    oh those rollers look amazing! i have never tried using one but i am totally jealous of yours and need to soon!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  5. November 16, 2009 6:00 pm

    I can honestly say if I was just looking at pictures on your blog and not reading I would have thought the pictured foam roller was a noodle you use at a pool to float around. 🙂

    Obviously, not familiar with it! But intrigued…so I’m off to google it! 🙂

    Thanks for the advice on the oatmeal this morning…adding protien would help so much…I’ll try that this week! 🙂

  6. November 16, 2009 6:27 pm

    Oh man, I don’t think I could survive with my foam roller. I love that little piece of foam!

  7. rubythewes permalink
    November 16, 2009 10:56 pm

    I have seen them used – but I’ve never tried it myself. I am definitely intrigued!

  8. November 17, 2009 11:59 am

    Foam rollers rock! I also use “the stick” to roll out those overly tight muscles. It doesn’t always make me want to cry, but when it hurts that bad, I know I need it.

  9. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    November 18, 2009 5:13 pm

    Aah, yes….foam rolling hurts so good! 🙂

    I bought one to keep at home because I’m a bit skeeved out by the ones at the gym…so I roll my little heart out when I’m watching TV…aaaahhhhh!!!!

Leave a Reply

