Skip to content

I’m just an Old Lady Doin Some Bird Watchin

November 14, 2009

So yesterday I shadowed 2 fitness floor staff at my new gig for a few hours.  One of the people I shadowed was a girl who is 21.  She and I were cleaning off some mats and chatting, she asked if I still lived with my parents.  Cute! I tell her, no, I’m an “old lady of 33” and live with my husband.  She said “oh, I never would have thought you were that old.”  HA!!!

On one hand…flattered….on the other hand…DEAR GOD I AM OLD!

And just to prove how old I am…I spent 20 minutes this morning just watching the birds on my deck and reading my bird book!!  There were 2 different kinds of woodpeckers, nuthatches, cardinals, sparrow, finches and some absolutely beautiful blue jays.  Have you ever seen a blue jay up close? The colors are amazing like a tropical bird.

So I got sooooo excited to just sit and watch birds.  Oh well, I like being an old lady!!

After I did my shadowing at the gym, I changed into workout clothes and hit the treadmill.  No excuses for not working out when you are already at the gym!!

Not sure who I am, but I got on the treadmill and RAN 5 MILES.  5 miles in a row!! In 54 minutes!

Seriously…this is so unlike me.  I think I might be turning into one of those crazy running people! It didn’t even seem hard, my heart rate never got super high.  I adjusted the speed up or down based on how I felt throughout my run.

Training Stats

Total time with warmup, cooldown, stretch 71 minutes

637 calories

148 average HR (so low!!)

180 high HR (I sprinted the last .25 mile to get it over with!)

5.20 miles

I was hungry when I got home and had a porkchop and some mac and cheese!

Today I am going into work for some customer service training, to be followed by a strength session and some time on the stepmill.

Hope you all have something fun planned for this weekend!!!!!!!

GO PACKERS!

Here are some gratuitous dog pics to end the post:

100_2755 100_2757

So tired and sleeping in the sun..they don’t look so happy I woke them for pics!!

100_2760  100_2761

Waiting (impatiently!!!) for daddy to take them to the dog park!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 10:10 pm

    I think you are definitely becoming one of those crazy running people…welcome to the club! : )

  2. November 14, 2009 10:22 pm

    Awesome run! I also work with a kid who’s all of 22 and male. I had forgotten how clueless 22 year old boys are. And yes, I feel old too!

  3. November 14, 2009 10:48 pm

    Congrats on the run!!

  4. November 15, 2009 5:48 am

    I know I say it every time, but I love your dogs. I’m so happy that you’re liking your job so much. I love bird watching too, but I’m also 33! 🙂 I work at a youth center on base for 9-12 year olds and hate when the kids inform me that I’m older than their moms! Congrats on the 5 miles – that’s awesome. I’ll be posting a triathlon report in the next day or 2 if you want to stop by. Have a great Sunday. Amy

Leave a Reply

