Skip to content

Grab and GO!

November 12, 2009

Good morning bloggies! It is currently 5:28 AM and a chilly and frosty 30 degrees here in Illinois.

I’m up awfully early today, but I have a scheduled workout with my trainer at 6:45.  I need to leave here around 6 to get there and get a warmup in, so I’m up at 5:15 to have time for coffee and a little bite to eat.

Yesterday I had a long day out of the house and I wasn’t sure how or when I would be able to eat.  I knew I had to leave the house at 11:30 and likely wouldn’t be home until 7 PM or so.  What to do about eats!?

I pulled out my trusty lunch sack and packed up a few things.  Here is a few good ideas for eating on the go.

100_2746

I had a staff meeting at my new job from 12-1:30, then more training scheduled, then my own workout, then training a client.  The meeting was falling right during lunch and I knew I need some fuel to get me through the rest of my busy bee day.

Here are the supplies I pulled out:

100_2745

These Nature Valley trail mix bars we bought in a LARGE box from CostCo for my hubby’s lunches but they are pretty tasty and filling.  Nuts, cranberries and a slight sticky/sweetness make them a pretty decent snack for 140 calories.

100_2748

Then I grabbed a bottle of water and a delicious and juicy honeycrisp apple (unpictured…lots of paper towels to wipe up honeycrisp juiciness!)

100_2749

I refilled the bottle a few times…after my meeting, after my workout, etc.  I know..I need to get a nice refillable Sigg bottle.  That might have to go on my Xmas list!

Then I made up a wrap that included a healthy dollop of my fave hummus on a whole wheat wrap with 2 pieces of deli chicken, rolled up tight into a tasty little package.

100_2750     100_2752

100_2753

 

My packed food worked out pretty well for me.  I ate the wrap in the car on the way to work, after the meeting I had one of the granola bars.  After my workout on the way to train my client I had the apple and the other granola bar.  Kept me fueled and never hungry through the day. I could have used one more thing to eat though…some greek yogurt or something else would have been perfect.  By the time I got home I devoured a salad and toasted sandwich thin.

Hope you all have a great Thursday…it is almost the weekend.

Anyone else out there have a great grab and go snack/meal idea for those of us on the run all day? Please share in the comments! Always looking for more ideas!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    November 12, 2009 1:55 pm

    I must share the newest snack/treat that we found….everyone knows about Jell-O’s 60 calorie puddings, right? If you haven’t tried them, they are great and you really can’t tell that they are sugar free! Anyway, Jell-O just came out with a line of sugar free 60 calorie MOUSSE flavors! Yummy! They have milk and dark chocolate along with caramel as well. SO GOOD! So, if you need something sweet without the high calorie regret grab some of these! 🙂

  2. November 12, 2009 6:27 pm

    I love to pack baggies of veggies (i.e. carrots, celery, cucumbers, radishes…), yogurt and peanut butter sandwiches. It all travels well and keeps me full.

  3. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    November 12, 2009 9:06 pm

    I’m always packing up snacks and meals for the whole day! Sometimes I’ll mix frozen berries into greek yogurt…the berries thaw nicely and it’s a great little snack. I like things like baby carrots, sliced cucumbers, etc, with hummus for dipping. I usually pack raw almonds with dates or raisins. Hmmm…trying to think what else…Oh!!

    I found some great containers @ Target: They’re called “Fit and Fresh.” They all come with ice packs, and show the serving sizes of whatever’s inside them. I have a salad container that has a compartment for the dressing, and you can shake it all up to eat on the go. I also have a sandwich container that has two smaller compartment for snacks. They’re awesome – check it out!

  4. November 12, 2009 10:34 pm

    I was going to say the same as Stacy – veggie sticks. Dried fruit is good and nuts. For me I have to be careful with portion control with those though. 🙂 I’m glad you’re liking your job so much.

  5. Jen permalink
    November 16, 2009 5:14 pm

    Honestly with your busy scheduled and calorie burning body, that doesn’t look like enough calories to keep you fueled…make sure you eat enough or you won’t be able to get through your days let alone loose weight.

Leave a Reply

