Skip to content

A Foot in the Door…..

November 6, 2009

Happy Friday to everyone out there in blog land!

I have some really good news for a change.  I heard back on Wednesday that I was being offered the Fitness Floor Staff position at my gym! I went in yesterday and filled out my new hire paperwork and got a behind the scene tour.

I will be working some sporadic hours to start…filling in, doing the shifts when they don’t have anyone, but eventually will be working around 25 hours a week.

The great part of this job is they expect you to be certified or at least in the process of being certified as a personal trainer.  I get to shadow senior trainers and learn how to do orientations, evaluations and all the other day to day business of being a personal trainer.  My responsibilities are to keep the fitness floor neat and clean, wipe down machines, know how all the machines work, answer member questions, etc.  The ultimate goal is to be a full time trainer and there is a very good chance of that here.

I am very excited because my gym is VERY nice and part of a hospital group.  So it is a great place to work, not too far from my house and of course I get a free membership which isn’t too shabby of a benefit!

Thanks so much for all the good luck wishes and the vibes you all sent me! It was great knowing there were people out there that I only know from the blog, friends and family wishing me the best.

Hopefully this is the start of a long and fulfilling career in fitness.

I think this will also help keep me on track in my own journey.  Working at a gym, pursuing my goals and being around other’s that are health focused will keep me on track and push me to get to where I want to be.

So happy Friday to everyone!!!

I couldn’t resist my little babies yesterday…they were being so cute and sleepy.  Wish I had a nicer camera because these pics don’t do them justice.

Here is a little photo shoot Friday:

100_2717 100_2713

100_2709 100_2712

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    November 6, 2009 1:39 pm

    CONGRATS Courtney!! I’m so excited for you! 🙂

  2. November 6, 2009 1:49 pm

    Congratualtions! I am so happy for you!

  3. November 6, 2009 2:53 pm

    yay!! congrats! I am so happy for you! I knew it would all work out. Sounds like such a great opportunity! yay!!!!

  4. November 6, 2009 4:04 pm

    Congratulations! It sounds like an ideal positon for you. Good luck.

  5. November 6, 2009 5:26 pm

    Congratulations!!! It sounds like a terrific opportunity!

  6. Rita permalink
    November 6, 2009 6:15 pm

    YOu are going to be great, Courtney….Your enthusiasm will spill over to your clients….You will be running the club within 5 years…

  7. DiningAndDishing permalink
    November 6, 2009 8:51 pm

    Congratulations! That is fantastic news :O)

    Your pets are just gorgeous!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  8. November 6, 2009 11:14 pm

    Congratulations, I’m so happy for you! 🙂

  9. November 6, 2009 11:15 pm

    Yay! I’ve been wondering, but didn’t want to ask just incase. I am so happy it’s good news! Awesome job. I love your dogs. I think 90% of my blogs have at least one picture of Rana. 🙂

  10. November 7, 2009 10:04 pm

    Fantastic and wonderful healthy vibes will generate from Courtney and all of the spirit and influence she will bring to her new career. Go get ’em!

  11. November 7, 2009 11:28 pm

    YAY Courtney, I am sooo happy for you! I totally agree- this will be amazing for you on your journey!!! You will make an excellent PT one day :).

  12. November 8, 2009 1:23 pm

    Woot Woot!!! Can’t wait to hear how this portion of your journey turns out! I’ll never forget my first gym job and how excited I was. I can’t believe that was 10 years ago! Your gonna love it!

  13. fitlizzio permalink
    November 8, 2009 9:15 pm

    congrats on the new job!! and cute pics of the pups 🙂

  14. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    November 9, 2009 5:30 pm

    Congratulations!!! That’s such exciting news!!!!!!! I can’t wait to hear about your journey as you start a career in the fitness industry…you go girl!! 😀 (p.s. Can ya tell I’m excited for ya? hehe!)

Leave a Reply

