Skip to content

Courtney’s Easy Weeknight Salsa Hashbrown Casserole

November 5, 2009

Yesterday I wanted to read my new book from the library all morning, so I decided to get all my chores done so I could enjoy it.  I did all the laundry, vacuuming, dishwasher and other chores I had planned and then decided to go one step above and prepare a tasty dinner.

I pulled out what I had in the refrigerator for inspiration and decided on a classic.

Courtney’s Easy Salsa Hashbrown Casserole

Ingredients:

1 lb ground turkey (or ground beef)

1 bag of southwest style shredded potatoes

4 ozs low fat cream cheese

2 cups salsa

1 cup shredded cheese

So easy!

I used the usual suspects:

100_2698   100_2699

Brown up the turkey, and at the end of the cooking add in the 4 ounces of cut up cream cheese and blend, then add the salsa.

100_2702  100_2701

In the meantime, spread the bag of potatoes out on the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan. I look for these potatoes to be on sale at the store and keep them in the freezer.  Excellent for breakfast (especially while camping!) and quick casseroles.

100_2696  100_2700

After the turkey, cream cheese and salsa are fully cooked, pour across the top of the potato and then top with whatever shredded cheese you like.

I used a little less than a cup of cheese, a little goes far in this case and keeps it on the lighter side.

100_2708

I put the top on the cooking dish and put in the refrigerator until I was ready to cook it up for dinner.  I took the pan out and let it warm up a little as I preheated the oven to 375.  I cooked it approx. 45 minutes and it was a big hit!

This makes enough to serve a family with leftovers.  I will be munching on this for the rest of the week.  You could serve with a green salad and little bit of sour cream on the top to round out the meal.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 6:10 pm

    Enjoy your book! Are you reading something good?

  2. November 5, 2009 6:29 pm

    LOVE the idea of this casserole! It’s nice to have something make ahead to just walk in the door and put in the oven.

    Thanks for the recipe!

  3. DiningAndDishing permalink
    November 5, 2009 7:52 pm

    Nothing like curling up with a good book after a few hours of hard work!! Recipe looks delish :O)

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  4. Rita permalink
    November 11, 2009 11:32 pm

    I’m cooking this tonight…..I usually do a different version of this on Thanksgiving….Leave out the turkey and it makes a great sidedish with a turkey roast….

Leave a Reply

