Skip to content

End of Year Resolutions

November 3, 2009

Good morning bloggies!

Hope you are all recovered from your Halloween festivities and candy…

100_2675

I for one am glad to move on to November.  October was a rainy, long and hard month! Normally I love October, but I am hoping this year that November will be a great month.

Are you getting a little nervous about the next 2 months of holidays and the temptations of food, lack of exercise, sunset coming early, and stress?  I am too! I want to make sure I get a good foundation in place the first few weeks of November, so that by the time Thanksgiving hits I am ready to take on the holiday season full force.

I am planning to do a 5 mile Turkey Trot the morning of Thanksgiving, which will be a GREAT way to kick off the holiday season in a healthy way.  I plan to train for the next 4 weeks so I am able to get a good time in this race.

turkey_trot_lg

My other “End of Year Resolutions” include:

–Strength training 3 times per week

–Cardio 5-6 times per week (2-3 of these sessions should be running)

–No more falling asleep on the recliner at night! When I’m tired, I need to get in bed

–Read more (I love to read but have not been reading for pleasure much lately)

–Cook healthy lunches and dinners most days of the week

–Using SparkPeople to track my calories

–Continue pursuing a career in health and fitness

–Daily affirmations of gratitude for what I DO have, and not wasting time thinking about what I DON’T have

–Daily positive thinking

 

Do any of you have plans for the rest of the year to stay on a healthy track? I would love to hear what you are doing to make it through the holiday season intact!

Please share your “end of year resolutions” in the comments…maybe that will spark something for another reader!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 1:50 pm

    Our Thanksgiving menu allows for healthy choices……grilled white meat turkey, potatoes ( butterless and gravyless your choice ), green bean casserole, fresh snacking vegetables, beverages include Iced water, or tea. The rest of the menu can include personal choices or eating portionsmall items from the menu. If it’s the size of a deck of cards, then it’s portion-friendly!

  2. DiningAndDishing permalink
    November 3, 2009 5:38 pm

    I am doing the turkey trot also! Sounds like a great way to kick off the holiday season in a healthy way. Best of luck to you with your resolutions!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  3. November 3, 2009 9:40 pm

    Our local Turkey trot is one of my absolute favorite races of the year and the best part of Thanksgiving! Good luck with your training!

  4. November 3, 2009 10:02 pm

    I’m not too nervous about end of the year. Since we live overseas the holidays aren’t that big of a deal. I haven’t been in the states for a full holiday season in 4 years so I know when I return in a couple it could get ugly. 🙂 However, I am nervous because for Thanksgiving week we’re taking a cruise. We’re doing some active excursions so that will help, but I’m worried about all that food! My plan is that for the buffets I will start with a plate of only fruits and veggies so I’m slightly full before hitting the “good stuff”. It also seems that there’s a pretty good gym on board.

    When do you find out about your job? My fingers are crossed! Good luck!

  5. livelaughloveandrun permalink
    November 4, 2009 11:25 am

    I would love to do a Turkey Trot race, but I think I have to work Thanksgiving morning. My goal is to continue working out just as I have been.. I have a half November 22nd, so maybe even sign up for a new long race or even a tri.

    Good luck with the running!

  6. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    November 4, 2009 8:55 pm

    I love the idea of end-of-year resolutions! This seems like a great time to set new goals…

    After I get through my 5k this weekend, I’m thinking of signing up for a Turkey Trot…depending on how I do this weekend, haha!

Trackbacks

  1. Do you have focus? « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

